LibGuides: Ethics for Professionals: Home

Specialized Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (2012)
Encyclopedia of environmental ethics (2009)
Encyclopedia if ethical failure from the DoD (2015)
Encyclopedia of ethics (2001)
Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics (2005)

Select Videos from our Collection

Consider viewing movies such as the following:

The Insider (1999)
Michael Clayton (2007)
Contagion (2011)
Shattered Glass (2004)
Roger and Me (1989)
The Invisible War (2012)
Invictus (2009)
Groundhog Day (1993)

Keyword search the following "AVON" database for documentaries covering ethical issues.

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every subject area. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

Ethics Statements & Discipline Boards

Use the following database to find website of professional associations, each of which will have their own statement of professional ethics.

Gale Directory Library (formerly Associations Unlimited) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate more than 456,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, and access IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. Also useful for monitoring association trends, identifying related associations, networking and making professional contacts, identifying award and funding opportunities, and marketing to associations, their members and markets. Includes these directories: Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations; and National Directory of Nonprofit Associations.

Resource Websites Elsewhere

US Federal Government sites

Finding articles

ABI/INFORM Collection (formerly ABI Complete) This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and international business and economic conditions, trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, product development, and competitive information. Content types include: scholarly and trade journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, working papers, conference materials, case studies, books, audio, video, and company, country, industry, and market research reports. The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Dateline (local and regional business publications), ABI/INFORM Global (in-depth coverage from thousands of publications), and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics).
Keywords: accounting, banking, company, country, economy, finance, industry, international, marketing, management, operations, policy
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints (formerly: Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context) is an online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Features include Viewpoint articles, access to statistics and government data placed in context, interactive maps, and infographics.

Librarian's Tip:
ABI/Inform is strong on both the trade and scholarly literature, as well as business news in general. Be sure to filter for each kind of literature to observe the differences in topics and writing style.

Librarian's Tip:
Browsing specialized journals can also be an effective way to research current topics in each field. Each of these journal titles contain the stem word "ethic." Browse the list, click through to the ones that sound relevant. Each platform on which the journals are hosted will be slightly different, although most should offer a way to keyword search their contents.

Finding books

E-books: See the following link for a sample search of the "Articles & More" search box on the front page of the Drexel Libraries website for the keywords "professional ethics" and filtered for just e-books from the year 2000 onward.

Browsing the Drexel Libraries book catalog by the Library of Congress subject heading "Professional Ethics" provides an overview of all the books in this area and highlights just a few books by subcategory for each profession.
For example:
Professional Ethics - College Teachers
Professional Ethics - Engineers
Professional Ethics - Physicians

Also see the narrower terms, such as Business Ethics, Legal Ethics, Medical Ethics, etc

Try a similar search by the subject heading "Professional Ethics" in the database of all U.S. libraries (www.worldcat.org).
Then filter your results using the "Topics" option on the lower left to get just those books in the subcategory you wish. If you desire a book you find in worldcat that Drexel does not own, try requesting it through Drexel's EZBorrow network.

Subject Guide

Michael Johnson

Email Me

Contact:

3300 Market Street
Hagerty Library, Room 125
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215.571.4288

Subjects: Anthropology & Sociology, Culture & Communication, English and Literature, Film & Television, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Global Studies & Modern Languages, Politics