LibGuides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Home

Finding books

Try a keyword search in DragonSearch. Filter search results by 'Material Type-Book Chapter.
To find additional books on any topic, search using 'Advanced Keyword searching'.

Electronic Books

Search in various electronic book collections about topic related to biomedical engineering

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering prepares students to solve real-world problems, provides access to upper-level textbooks at no additional cost, enables faculty to integrate practical resources into their courses, and helps professionals find relevant information faster, driving increased ROI.
Ebrary [ProQuest Ebook Central] This link opens in a new window
Ebrary is now part of ProQuest Ebook Central. Ebook Central offers over 100,000 ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures.
Knovel Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Engineering decision-support solution enabling students to solve problems faster. Its powerful search and interactive analytical tools help students find answers to technical questions through best practice insights, validated equations, and materials and property data from various providers.
Safari: O’Reilly’s Learning Platform for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online. There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books.
Skillport from Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new window
Skillport®is a web-based Learning Management System (LMS) that provides access to content covering IT & digital skills, business and finance, and leadership development applied to various disciplines. Content types include: articles, eBooks and audiobooks, book summaries, case studies, certification materials, electronic handbooks and how-to books, instructional videos, and live events.
To set preferences, enable notifications, create a personal learning plan, and view bookmarks, book notes, and downloaded book chapters, create a profile using your Drexel email address. Each user is entitled to 15 chapter downloads every 90 days.
SpringerLINK Computer Science eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reports on the latest results from all areas of computer science and information technology research, development, and education. Includes Lecture Notes In Computer Science

Electronic Reference

Catalogs and components

Finding Articles

Try DragonSearch to find peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals.

Use relevant research keywords related to your topic.
For example, type ‘Knitted Electronic Circuits' and click on Search.
Refine your search results by selecting options such as 'peer review' and 'Articles and more'.
Explore your results, find and access papers you need.

Electronic Databases

Use databases below to find scholarly journal articles about the topic of your research project.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access full text articles on computer science, software and computer engineering published in the Association for Computing Machinery periodicals, transactions, and proceedings since 1985.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Find journals published by Annual Reviews.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
High-quality professional and reference works, handbooks, select non-ASME conference proceedings, as well as advanced monographs in established and emerging areas of interest to mechanical engineers and allied disciplines.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a search interface for Compendex, Inspec, Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB), and Knovel databases. It provides access to articles from scientific journals and conference proceedings, access to electronic books through Knovel database, offers support for varying engineering research initiatives, and helps discover engineering-related jobs.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than four-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, biomedical engineering, computer science and electronics.
IET Journal Archive 1872-2012 This link opens in a new window
The IET Journals span all areas of engineering and technology – covering the disciplines of electrical, electronics, computing, control, biomedical and communications technologies.
IET Research Hub on Wiley This link opens in a new window
The IET Journals covering the disciplines of electrical, electronics, computing, control, biomedical and communications technologies are now fully gold Open Access, allowing researchers and practitioners around the world immediate and free access to current IET Journals content. As well as publishing current research Open Access, all articles published from 2013 are freely available on the IET Research hub.
IGI Global Gateway This link opens in a new window
Focuses on specialized topics in information science and technology and the related organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications. Includes full text collection of peer reviewed journals and eBooks, as well as streaming video lectures.
IGI Global Information Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
The Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series, which includes the subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), covers developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Content types include abstracts, previews, and full text of eBooks and conference proceedings.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Find millions of global dissertations and theses, dating back to 1743. Items added since 1997 generally available in full text.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Proquest One Academic is a great place to start when researching a topic. The database offers full text access to thousands of academic journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, and videos from across all disciplines.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1500 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers more than 36,000 titles from over 11,000 publishers, nearly all of which are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. It covers three types of sources: book series, journals, and trade journals. All journals covered in the Scopus database, regardless of who they are published under, are reviewed each year to ensure high quality standards are maintained. Searches in Scopus also incorporate searches of patent databases. Scopus gives four types of quality measure for each title; those are h-Index, CiteScore, SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper).
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
SPIE provides access to technical publications from SPIE Journals, Conference Proceedings and Presentations, and eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers and 25 eBooks are added annually.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.

See 'General information concerning patents' and Patent FAQ

New to Patent Searching? See this important information about searching for patents:

Multi-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy- Outlines a suggested procedure for patent searching

The Patent Public Search tool is a new web-based patent search application that has two user selectable modern interfaces that provide enhanced access to prior art. The new, powerful, and flexible capabilities of the application improves the overall patent searching process.

Other patent sources:

ESpacenet: free access to over 150 million patent documents. Espacenet is accessible to beginners and experts and is updated daily. It contains data on more than 150 million patent documents from around the world.
See: Smart Search Classisfication Search Advanced Search
Using Espacenet: Step by Step

PATENTSCOPE: Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 36 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT).

The Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to present.

The Intellectual Property Digital Library- WIPO GOLD-IP Reference Resource

WIPO GOLD is a free public resource which provides a one-stop gateway to WIPO’s global collections of searchable IP data. It aims to facilitate universal access to IP information.

See 'Office of Applied Innovation', Looking for a technology or invention to commercialize? Drexel currently has hundreds of technologies in many industry categories for your browsing. See also Drexel's 'Intellectual Property Policy'.

Engineering Standards

Engineering Standards:

See
- Engineering Standards

See aso:

IEEE Standards:

IEEE Xplore - Click on Standards
With an active portfolio of nearly 1,300 standards and projects under development, IEEE is a leading developer of industry standards in a broad range of technologies.

Defense and federal specifications and standards

ASSIST Quick Search

Searching for standards from other organizations such as ISO or SAE.

Find standard number and the title for each standard you need from the other organizations.

ANSI Store - Search for ISO, IEC and other standards
Techstreet

MAD CAD

MAD CAD
Mad Cad is a database with access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. Some ASHRAE standards are also available.

To obtain any other standards, or if you have any other questions, please contact Jay Bhatt, Liaison Librarian for Engineering, Hagerty Library room 127, Phone: 215-895-1873. Email: bhattjj@drexel.edu

Technical Reports

What is a technical report? A technical report is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research, or the state of a technical or scientific research problem.

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Subject Guide