LibGuides: Education Policy: Home

News

Education Week
News for the principal or superintendent. More extensive reports available for subscribers.

more... less...

Try out their free two-week trial and let your Education Librarian know if you think it would be worth getting an institutional subscription.

CQ Researcher

Weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Factiva
Provides access to sources of local, regional, national, and international news, general insight, selected financial information and profiles for publicly traded U.S. and international companies, industry reports, quotes for financial instruments, and stock market data. News content types include: newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, wire services, transcripts, images, blogs, and websites.
New York Times 1851 - 3 years ago: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search historical New York Times content from 1851 to 3 years ago. Articles, editorials, cartoons, and even advertisements are fully searchable.
Philadelphia Inquirer 1983 - Present

Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service

Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
Washington Post -- ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1877-2001
Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1877 through 2001. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.

Finding scholarly articles

Education Source
Education Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Education Source includes all resources and indexing previously provided by Education Research Complete, as well as to additional resources.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) via ProQuest

Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full text education literature and resources. Content types include journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations, policy papers, and reports.

Includes ability to limit search results by education level (such as early childhood education or a particular grade) and target audience (such as counselors, parents, or teachers)

What Works Clearinghouse - Evidence Based Research
The WWC reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions.

Education Librarian's Tip:
ERIC is available on both the Proquest and EBSCO platforms. But the user interface is best on the public website http://eric.ed.gov where the thesaurus features can be used to best effect. To get full text of citations found on the public site, just copy the title of the article over to the DragonSearch search box on the front page of the Drexel Libraries website.

Finding theses & dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

Find millions of global dissertations and theses, dating back to 1743. Items added since 1997 generally available in full text.

Education Librarian's Tip

Full-text PDF's of dissertations and theses from the USA and Canada! Use the Advanced Search option whenever you want to search dissertations from a particular institution, such as Drexel.

Statistical Sources

The four Centers of the Institute for Education Sciences:

National Center for Education Research (NCER)
One of the four centers within the Institute of Education Sciences, supports rigorous research that contributes to the solution of significant education problems in our country.
National Center to Special Education Statistics
One of the four Centers within the Institute of Education Sciences, supports rigorous research on infants, toddlers, children, and youth with and at risk for disabilities through advancing the understanding of and practices for teaching, learning, and organizing education systems.
Regional Educational Laboratories
The "RELs" (10 in all) work in partnership with educators and policymakers to develop and use research that improves academic outcomes for students.
National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE)
Conducts unbiased large-scale evaluations of education programs and practices