Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Research; Construction Management Research

• Try a keyword search in DragonSearch. Filter search results by 'Material Type-Book Chapters
  • Geotechnical engineering
  • Soil mechanics
  • Building design and construction
  • Construction Management
  • Wastewater management
  • Highway engineering
  • Earthquake and soil
  • Green buildings
  • Sustainable Buildings

• Explore 'Advanced Keyword searching'. 

Search in various electronic book collections about your research topic.

Try DragonSearch to find  peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals. 

• Use relevant research keywords related to your topic. 
• For example, type ‘Structural Health Monitoring' and 'Internet of Things'  click on Search.
• Refine your search results by selecting options such as  'peer review' and 'Articles and more'.
• Explore your results, find and access papers you need. 

Use databases below to find scholarly journal articles about the topic of your research project.

• Air Now
  The U.S. EPA, NOAA, NPS, tribal, state, and local agencies developed the AIRNow Web site to provide the public with easy access to national air quality information
• Data and Statistics about the U.S.
• EarthExplorer - allows users to search, download, and order data held in USGS archives through a number of query options.
• Environmental Sustainability Index (ESI) -The ESI is a composite index tracking a diverse set of socioeconomic, environmental, and institutional indicators that characterize and influence environmental sustainability at the national scale.
• Envirofacts -Envirofacts is a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. This website provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
• EPA's National Geospatial Program 
• EPA: Water Data and Tools  See also: Water related information.
• ESRI Community Analyst - Web-based tool from the geographic information system market leader ESRI, offering the ability to create maps, infographics, or reports from business, crime, demographic, lifestyle, behavioral, consumer spending, and U.S. traffic data. Contains data and reports for more than 135 countries, enabling a greater understanding of communities from a policy or social issue perspective.
• Explore Renewable Energy Data - explore vital renewable energy investment and deployment decisions.
• Geospatial Data Science Data and Tools - explore data resources.
• National Renewable Energy Laboratory Data and Tools 
• Pennsylvania Special Data Access - Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access (PASDA) is Pennsylvania's official public access open geospatial data portal.
• USGS: Data and Tools
• USGS Maps and Aerial Photo Images Online  
• USGS: the National Map 
• USGS Water Resources: Maps and GIS Data  

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.

See 'General information concerning patents' and Patent FAQ

A patent is a property right granted by the Government of the United States of America to an inventor "to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the United States or importing the invention into the United States" for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted.

New to Patent Searching? See this important information about searching for patents:

• Multi-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy- Outlines a suggested procedure for patent searching

• Patent Classification System

Other patent sources: 

PATENTSCOPE:  Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 36 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT).

The Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to present.

The Intellectual Property Digital Library- WIPO GOLD-IP Reference Resource 

WIPO GOLD is a free public resource which provides a one-stop gateway to WIPO’s global collections of searchable IP data. It aims to facilitate universal access to IP information.

See 'Office of Applied Innovation',  Looking for a technology or invention to commercialize? Drexel currently has hundreds of technologies in many industry categories for your browsing. See also Drexel's  'Intellectual Property Policy'.

Other patent sources: 

PATENTSCOPE:  Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 36 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT).

Espacenet

As the patent office for Europe, it provides support  to innovation, competitivenes and economic growth across Europe.

Patent Anatomy 101
An identification of portions found in a typical U.S. patent.

The Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to present.

What is a technical report? A technical report is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research, or the state of a technical or scientific research problem.

Knovel: Find Material Properties