Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Green Collar Jobs by
This is a comprehensive yet practical guide for job seekers looking for green career opportunities. Green Collar Jobs: Environmental Careers for the 21st Century is a simple, easy-to-reference guide that will help students, recent graduates, job seekers, and career changers at all levels find the latest information and job resources in this burgeoning new field. This exceptionally timely book examines all aspects of green careers, beginning with an overview discussing green jobs from environmental, economic, and political perspectives. The core of the book is comprised of chapters that describe specific types of green jobs and career paths. These include jobs related to alternative energy, water resources, green marketing, green business, green building, and environmental law. For those willing to leave home, there is a chapter on global environmental jobs, and there is information on niche green careers such as ecotourism and green interior design. Each chapter includes job sources, education and training resources, and a listing of companies involved in the particular business. Provides original insights and advice from professionals in green career fields Includes web addresses for associations, discussion groups, job boards, and companies in each chapter Lists relevant job sites and online references
Call Number: GE60 .D45 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-22
Green Jobs for a New Economy by
Looking for two-year schools with sustainability programs? These easy-to-read profiles are organized by state and province, and include the following information for accredited two-year schools in the United States, U.S. territories, and Canada that responded to Peterson's Survey of Sustainability Efforts in Higher Education online survey: Sustainability Initiatives, Academics, Student Services and Green Events, Food, Transportation, Buildings and Grounds, Recycling, Energy, Purchasing, and Contact Information. Featuring exclusive bonus section, "What Does Being Green Mean," which examines the current interest in sustainability, President Obama's "New Energy for America" program, and key green terms and definitions, with links to more than 20 green job boards and over 30 U.S. and global organizations that support sustainability.
Call Number: GE60 .G74 2009
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
Green Jobs by
Going green isn't just recycling any more. With this comprehensive guide, readers can find the job of their dreams--and sleep better at night.
Call Number: GE60 .L54 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Becoming a Landscape Architect by
Explore exciting options for a career in landscape architecture Blending aesthetics and environmental consciousness, landscape architecture is one of the fastest growing fields, according to the US Department of Labor. Becoming a Landscape Architect gives you a comprehensive survey of the field as it is practiced today, and explains how to get started and how to succeed in this exciting, creative, and in-demand profession. Featuring more than thirty-five interviews with leading landscape architects and more than 250 illustrations, the guide covers everything an aspiring landscape architect needs to know- from education and training, design specialties, and work settings to preparing an effective portfolio and finding a job in residential, ecological, commercial, and parks design. Complete guide to the profession of landscape architecture, one of today's fastest growing fields More than thirty-five interviews with leading landscape designers and educators give you an idea of what it's really like to work as a landscape architect Over 250 striking illustrations and a lively interior make the book visually appealing as well as informative Explains different educational paths and their prerequisites and requirements Author Kelleann Foster is Associate Professor and Assistant Department Head, Department of Landscape Architecture, Pennsylvania State University and Managing Partner, Visual Interactive Communications Group
Call Number: SB469.37 .F67 2010
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
The Complete Guide to Environmental Careers in the 21st Century by
Compiled by the acknowledged leaders in environmental career information, The Complete Guide to Environmental Careers in the 21st Century is a completely revised and updated edition of what has become the standard reference on the subject. Organized for ease of use and fully updated to reflect ongoing changes in environmental fields, it is the most comprehensive and reliable resource available for anyone seeking information about environmental career opportunities and how to get started in one. The book presents: a thorough consideration of environmental trends for the 21st century and the likely impact of those trends on future career opportunities an overview of environmental professions including a statistical review of the private sector environmental industry, state and local government, federal government, academia, and nonprofits valuable tips on career search strategies along with information about education, volunteering, and internships case studies of representative work and individual profiles that give readers an up-close and personal look at a variety of environmental professionals, what they really do, and how they arrived at their current positions resources for further information including more than 100 of the top web sites for the environmental career seeke. Chapters examine the entire spectrum of career fields, with each chapter providing an "at a glance" summary of the field; discussion of history and background along with current issues and trends; examination of specific career opportunities and the educational requirements for each; salary ranges by type of employer, level of experience, and responsibility; and an extensive list of resources for further information. Fields profiled include: planning, education and communications, energy management and conservation, fisheries and wildlife management, forestry, land and water conservation, and others. Written at a broad introductory level, The Complete Guide to Environmental Careers in the 21st Century provides an informative and inspirational starting place from which to learn more about specific fields. For recent college graduates, students, volunteers, librarians, career counselors, or anyone interested in working to protect the environment, it is an essential reference.
Call Number: GE60 .D69 1999
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
The ECO Guide to Careers That Make a Difference by
How can you make a real difference in the world and make a good living at the same time? The ECO Guide to Careers That Make a Difference: Environmental Work for a Sustainable World provides the answer. Developed by The Environmental Careers Organization (ECO, the creators of the popular Complete Guide to Environmental Careers), this new volume is unlike any careers book you've seen before. Reaching far beyond job titles and resume tips, The ECO Guide immerses you in the strategies and tactics that leading edge professionals are using to tackle pressing problems and create innovative solutions. To bring you definitive information from the real world of environmental problem-solving, The ECO Guide has engaged some of the nation's most respected experts to explain the issues and describe what's being done about them today. You'll explore: Global climate change with Eileen Claussen, Pew Center for Global Climate Change; Biodiversity loss with Stuart Pimm, Nicholas School for the Environment at Duke University; Green Business with Stuart Hart, Kenan-Flager Business School at University of North Carolina; Ecotourism with Martha Honey, The International Ecotourism Society; Environmental Justice with Robert Bullard, Environmental Justice Center at Clark Atlanta University; Alternative Energy with Seth Dunn, Worldwatch Institute; Water Quality with Sandra Postel, Global Water Policy Project; Green Architecture with William McDonough, McDonough + Partners; and twelve other critical issues. To demonstrate even more clearly what eco-work feels like on the ground, The ECO Guide offers vivid "Career Snapshots" of selected employers and the professionals that work there. You'll visit government agencies like the USDA Forest Service, nonprofit organizations like Conservation International and Project Wild, and local advocates like Alternatives for Community and Environment. You'll go inside environmental businesses like Wildland Adventures and Stonyfield Farms. And you'll learn from academic institutions like the National Center for Atmospheric Research and the Gund Institute for Ecological Economics. ECO also identifies and describes forty specific jobs that are representative of environmental career opportunities in the twenty-first century. It provides dozens of the best Internet resources. And most importantly, The ECO Guide offers all of the insight about current trends you expect from ECO, the acknowledged leaders in environmental career information.
Call Number: GE60 .E34 2004
Publication Date: 2004-11-29
To access this website, go to DrexelOne. Then click on the Coop and Career Services Tab. Once on that page you will see a link to Going Global in the box for Career Services.
Going Global provides country-specific and American city-specific career and employment information, Country and City Career Guides, H1B Visa information, employer information, internship and job listings within the United States and around the world. Also included are other resources that will help you in a co-op or job search.
Information on Companies
Use the links below to our company directories or Mergent Intellect to generate a list of potential employers. Specify your location criteria and your industry criteria. Try one of the suggested industry codes below to specify your industry of choice. You can also search for additional SIC and NAICS codes using the links below.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Data and information about active and inactive public and private U.S. and international companies, company and industry news, and more. In addition to profiles containing descriptive and financial details about active and inactive companies, Mergent Intellect features consumer data, Nielsen demographic and U.S. Census data, industry reports (U.S., Canada, global), and key business ratios. Includes D&B Million Dollar Database, Hoover's Online, and Mergent Key Business Ratios on the Web Keywords: company, demographic, finance, industry, job
Suggested Industry Codes
- 49590302- Environmental Cleanup Services
- 80710102- Biological Laboratory
- 81110208- Environmental Law
- 86419903- Environmental Protection Organization
- 86999904- Charitable Organization
- 87119903- Consulting Engineer
- 87310300- Natural Resource Research
- 87330100- Noncommercial Biological Research Organization
- 87449904- Environmental Remediation
- 87489905- Environmental Consultant
- 9511- Air, Water and Solid Waste Management
- 9512- Land, Mineral and Wildlife Conservation
- 541620- Environmental Consulting Services
- 541712- Research and Development in the Physical, Engineering and Life Sciences (except Biotechnology)
- 562910- Remediation Services
- 712130- Zoos and Botanical Gardens
- 3712190- Nature Parks and Other Similar Institutions
- 813312- Envrionment, Conservation and Wildlife Organizations
- 9241- Administration of Environmental Quality Programs
Steinbright Career Development Center
For more job search resources, follow the links below to SCDC's career guides, and to Handshake, the job search portal with positions posted by employers interested in Drexel students.
American Planning Association (APA)
APA is devoted to the career and professional development for urban planners. The organization’s website has a job board, a salary survey summary and a page for professional development.
American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)
The ASLA has a fantastic list of professional organizations, research and other resources related to environmental studies.
Association of Ecosystem Research Centers
The Association of Ecosystem Research Centers (AERC) is a collection of 43 research programs (linked to on this site) throughout the U.S. that specialize in ecosystem research.
City Parks Alliance
A political advocacy organization focused on promoting and developing urban parks.. They provide a list of member organizations, forms of advocacy and an urban parks-related job board.
Clear Air Task Force
Political organization focusing on public policy regulating pollutants from Coal and Gas power plants.
The National Association of Environmental Professions (NAEP)
NAEP is a multi-disciplinary association dedicated to the advancement of environmental professionals. It’s website has a Job Board where you can post your resume and look for posted positions.
Regional Plan Association
A very good directory of professionals in the NYC metro area.
Pennsylvania Association of Environmental Professionals
PAEP is an association dedicated to environmental education, research and planning for the state of Pennsylvania. In addition to a number of programs throughout the state, PAEP also offers a Job Board and Resume posting service.