Academia to Biotechnology by
Academia to Biotechnology deals with both the abstract and practical aspects of moving from a univerisity laboratory to a position in the biotech industry. Each chapter lists common and unique features to evaluate breaking down complex decisions into manageable elements. Several sections provide "how to" guides for the preparation of manuscripts, patents, grants, and internal company documents. Written by an experienced academician and successful biotechnology entrepreneur Reviews the basic tools taught in a traditional university Identifies new ways these these tools will be used in the corporate world Details the 'nuts and bolts' necessary to negotiate a successful position in the biotech industry
The Academic Job Search Handbook by
The Academic Job Search Handbook is the comprehensive guide to finding a faculty position in any discipline. Building on the groundbreaking success and unique offerings of earlier volumes, the fifth edition presents insightful new content on aspects of the search at all stages. Beginning with an overview of academic careers and institutional structures, it moves step by step through the application process, from establishing relationships with advisors, positioning oneself in the market, learning about job openings, preparing CVs, cover letters, and other application materials, to negotiating offers. Of great value are the sixty new sample documents from a diverse spectrum of successful applicants. The handbook includes a search timetable, appendices of career resources, and a full sample application package. This fifth edition features new or updated sections on issues of current interest, such as job search concerns for pregnant or international candidates, the use of social media strategies to address CV gaps, and difficulties faced by dual-career couples. The chapter on alternatives to faculty jobs has been expanded and presents sample résumés of PhDs who found nonfaculty positions. For more than twenty years, The Academic Job Search Handbook has assisted job seekers in all academic disciplines in the search for faculty positions at different kinds of institutions from research-focused universities to community colleges. Current faculty who used the book themselves recommend it to their own students and postdocs. The many new first-person narratives provide insight into issues and situations candidates may encounter such as applying for an international job, combining parenting with an academic career, going from an administrative job to a faculty position, and seeking faculty positions as a same-sex couple.
Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development by
An essential guide for students in the life sciences, established researchers, and career counselors, this resource features discussions of job security, future trends, and potential career paths. Even those already working in the industry will find helpful information on how to take advantage of opportunities within their own companies and elsewhere.
Career Opportunities in Clinical Drug Research by
This book is an easy-to-follow handbook that introduces readers to entry-level clinical job opportunities and explains how to qualify for them, with a particular emphasis on how to gain clinical experience that a hiring manager will accept. Each chapter covers one of the clinical specialties involved in conducting pharmaceutical clinical trials: for example, clinical research associate, clinical data manager, biostatistician, and clinical drug safety specialist. The chapters are written as personalized narratives, allowing the reader to follow the daily work of a clinical specialist as he or she supports a clinical study and interacts with the other study team members. The descriptions of these specialists are composite profiles that incorporate the true-to-life experiences of typical clinical study team members. A list of career options available to workers after mastering their entry-level clinical position, as well as a tool box for those seeking a position, are included. Career Opportunities in Clinical Drug Research also gives readers a brief overview of research and development in the pharmaceutical industry and explains how a typical clinical study is conducted.
Opportunities in Pharmacy Careers by
OPPORTUNITIES IN . . . SERIES PROVIDES VALUABLE CAREER INSIGHT TO STUDENTS AND JOB SEEKERS! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest; Training and education requirements for each career; Salary statistics for different positions within each field; Up-to-date professional and Internet resources; And much more
Top 100 Health-Care Careers, Second Edition by
The U.S. Department of Labor has released its workforce projections, and the health-care industry tops the list. About 16 percent of all new wage and salary jobs created between 2002 and 2012 will be in the health services-3.5 million jobs-more than in any other industry. Anyone considering a career in this explosive field will find all the information they need in this comprehensive resource. The career guidance section includes how to choose the health-care career best suited for individual goals, how to get the required education, and how to relate to patients. Each of the 100 job overviews include scope, activities, educational requirements, salary range, advancement, certification, and outlook. Readers will also find training and education programs for each of the 100 featured careers.
Biomedical Engineering Entrepreneurship by
This book is written for undergraduate and graduate students in biomedical engineering wanting to learn how to pursue a career in building up their entrepreneur ventures. Practicing engineers wanting to apply their innovations for healthcare will also find this book useful. The 21st century is the "Biotech Century" where many nations are investing heavily in biotechnology. As a result, tremendous business opportunities exist for biomedical engineering graduates who are interested in becoming successful entrepreneurs. However, many challenges await these entrepreneurs intending to invent safe and effective devices and drugs to prevent, diagnose, alleviate and cure diseases. In this publication, many examples of innovations in biomedical engineering are covered, from the conceptualization stage to successful implementation and commercialization. Part I teaches working and would-be biomedical engineers to assess how well their innovations and their team can succeed; Part II will guide budding entrepreneurs to launch their ventures to the point of pre-production models. Other important aspects like financing, negotiations, leading by example, manufacturing, marketing, venture and globalization are covered in Part III. Two concluding chapters, with excerpts from leaders in community, education and industries, touch on the growth and investment in biomedical engineering entrepreneurship.
Career Development in Bioengineering and Biotechnology by
This indispensable guide provides a roadmap to the broad and varied career development opportunities in bioengineering, biotechnology, and related fields. Eminent practitioners lay out career paths related to academia, industry, government and regulatory affairs, healthcare, law, marketing, entrepreneurship, and more. Lifetimes of experience and wisdom are shared, including "war stories," strategies for success, and discussions of the authors' personal views and motivations.
Career Planning for Research Bioscientists by
Career Planning for Research Bioscientists is anessential careers guide for bioscience doctoral students andpostdoctoral researchers. It contains a wealth of information andresources specifically targeted at research bioscientists, withpractical strategies to enhance career success in an increasinglycompetitive job market. Advice on how to write a winning CVtogether with examples adapted for different jobs is presented, aswell as practical exercises to assist with skills analysis anddecision making. Profiles of PhD-qualified bioscienstists ina range of professions including academic research, industry,science communication, management and consultancy provide valuableinsights into how others have managed their careers, and tacticssuch as networking and using social media demonstrate how newopportunities can be discovered. The content of this book is aimedprimarily at research bioscientists, however much of the advice andinformation will be a useful reference for other students andresearchers looking for an effective career planning strategy. A companion website with additional resources is available at www.wiley.com/go/blackford/careerplanningand you can visit Sarah Blackford's blog at www.biosciencecareers.orgfor more information.
The Handbook of Market Research for Life Science Companies by
As innovation moves from the lab to the market, a new research phase begins for the entrepreneur: the market research phase. Inspired by a new technology that can change the world, critical questions need to be addressed. Is there a market for my innovation? Who are my clients? What do they need? Is my innovation filling that gap in the market? Who are my competitors? How are they approaching the market? If these questions are unaswered, entrepreneurs meet potential investors or partners with only a basic understanding of their market. The objective of this book is to fill this gap. It is a practical manual that gives entrepreneurs real-world advice and tools to build a solid market model. The book provides tips, models and tools entrepreneurs can use to collect, interpret and present their market and integrate it into their business plan. What the entrepreneur learns in this book will help him throughout his journey. After going over the market research process, he will learn how to design and use a number of market research tools, and how to adapt them in a life science context. From building a web survey to preparing interviews to doing your own secondary research, this handbook will help him gain a comprehensive understanding of how to perform his own market research activities and how to analyze his data. Finally, a number of frameworks (such as the TAM-SAM-SOM as well as the KANO Model) are described so that he can efficiently share what he has learned, using models that simply yet effectively shares findings.
The WetFeet Insider Guide to the Top 20 Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Firms by
The biotech and pharmaceutical industry has a potent and promising future. Demand for drugs is growing, fueled by an aging global population and blossoming international markets. And so is the job market for skilled professionals in these industries.Look to The WetFeet Insider Guide to the Top 20 Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Firms to learn about the latest developments at top companies, from Abbott and Amgen to Genentech and Wyeth; recent milestones-ranging from mergers and acquisitions to lawsuits, discoveries, and patents; which companies have a global presence; what it's like to work for these companies; how to make contact and with whom, as well as what's involved in the hiring process; how to prepare for the interviews . . . and more!
Vault Career Guide to Biotech by
With new "wonder" drugs under development for almost every conceivable health issue, the 21st century promises to be an exciting and important time for the biotech industry. Learn more about career paths on both the science (R & D) and business (sales, marketing, project management) sides of biotech. Book jacket.
Becoming Leaders by
Copublished by ASCE Press, ASME Press, and the Society of Women Engineers, With a foreword by Patricia D. Galloway, CEO of the Pegasus Global Holdings and 2003-2004 ASCE President, and an afterword by Greta Raymond, Vice-President, Environment, Safety, and Social Responsibility, Petro-Canada. You are a woman pursuing a successful career in engineering, science, or technology, and you are prepared to work hard for this. But you must also work smart. Becoming Leaders is about working smart and about making the choices that are right for you, your talents, and your life, wherever you are in your career. Williams and Emerson consulted the best research on a wide range of topics of interest to women in different stages of their careers. They present important, timely information alongside practical tips. Chapters can be read in any order, with roadmaps for students, career women, faculty, and managers. Written both to support career success and to encourage leadership self-awareness, Becoming Leaders is a book you'll turn to again and again, for advice, for information, and most of all for inspiration.
Career Success in Engineering by
Today's time-pressed college engineering instructors have little time to discuss the real-world matters of employment, on-the-job performance, project management, leadership, ethics, and licensure that provide students with needed preparation for their professional futures. Years ago, employers or unions provided this information but today, career planning and development are left up to the individual. Students and new professionals may be at a disadvantage as they try to link their theory-based education with an application-based practice. Authors Bernard R. Berson and Douglas E. Benner share a common vision for nurturing young engineers and addressing this shortcoming. Drawing on the authors' own experiences, as well as those of other engineering industry leaders, Career Success in Engineering covers critical issues for current and recently graduated engineering students. Learn how to: Manage your career with goal setting, short- and long-range planning, continuing education, and professional development. Develop and present your ideas, work as part of a team, and manage a project. Select and use professional, mentors. Reap maximum benefits from professional association memberships, licensure, and networking. Book jacket.
Is There an Engineer Inside You? by
The perfect book for students considering a career in engineering Is There An Engineer Inside You? provides a detailed description of the engineering profession and many engineering specialties. The book includes guidance on planning for an engineering career ? from selecting the right college to preparing career groundwork. Salary statistics and addresses of engineering societies are included. The book also provides insightful and inspirational information on various engineers and engineering feats. The book includes: Why a career as an engineer might be right for you Tips on choosing the right college and what to expect once you're there Alternatives to traditional engineering Salary information Recommended reading lists And much more ..".an excellent resource for a high school career counselor or any student interested in becoming an engineer." -- The Science Teacher ..".provides a realistic look at the skills and training necessary to succeed in engineering..." -- Parent Press Magazine. _____________________________ Since 1975 more than 2 million people preparing for their engineering, surveying, architecture, LEED(R), interior design, and landscape architecture exams have entrusted their exam prep to PPI. For more information, visit us at www.ppi2pass.com.
Real-Resumes for Engineering Jobs by
Editor Anne McKinneyReviews and ExcerptsCivil engineers, mechanical engineers, structural engineers, marine engineers, chemical engineers, systems engineers, and engineering support personnel have a lot in common when they want to create a resume, and this book shows resumes and cover letters of individuals who want to work in the field. For those who seek federal employment, there's a special section showing how to create federal resumes and government applications. Since many technical types aren't writers, this comes as a special gift: select a winning format, plug in your background specs, and away you go. It's that easy--with REAL RESUMES in hand. - The Midwest Book Review1-885288-42-5
Resumes for Engineering Careers by
Helps you create a tailor-made resume that will help you land your perfect job. This title takes you step-by-step through the process, helping to assess your talents and organize them into a standout resume, whether you just graduated from college, are changing careers, or are re-entering the job market after years at one company.