Implementation Science Research

"Implementation science is the study of methods that influence the integration of evidence-based interventions into practice settings."

• Damschroder, L., Aron, D., Keith, R., Kirsh, S., Alexander, J., & Lowery, J. (2009). Fostering implementation of health services research findings into practice: A consolidated framework for advancing implementation science. Implementation Science, 4(1), 50-50. doi:10.1186/1748-5908-4-50 Full Text

• Aarons, G. A., Hurlburt, M., & Horwitz, S. M. (2011). Advancing a conceptual model of evidence-based practice implementation in public service sectors. Administration and Policy in Mental Health and Mental Health Services Research, 38(1), 4-23. doi:10.1007/s10488-010-0327-7 Full Text

• Proctor, E. K., Landsverk, J., Aarons, G., Chambers, D., Glisson, C., & Mittman, B. (2009). Implementation research in mental health services: An emerging science with conceptual, methodological, and training challenges. Administration and Policy in Mental Health and Mental Health Services Research, 36(1), 24-34. doi:10.1007/s10488-008-0197-4 Full Text

• Kitson, A., Rycroft-Malone, J., Harvey, G., McCormack, B., Seers, K., & Titchen, A. (2008). Evaluating the successful implementation of evidence into practice using the PARiHS framework: Theoretical and practical challenges. Implementation Science, 3(1), 1-1. doi:10.1186/1748-5908-3-1 Full Text

• Glasgow, R., Vinson, C., Chambers, D., Khoury, M., Kaplan, R., & Hunter, C. (2012). National institutes of health approaches to dissemination and implementation science: Current and future directions. American Journal of Public Health, 102(7), 1274-1281. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2012.300755 Full Text

• Michie, S., Fixsen, D., Grimshaw, J., & Eccles, M. (2009). Specifying and reporting complex behaviour change interventions: The need for a scientific method. Implementation Science, 4(1), 40-40. doi:10.1186/1748-5908-4-40 Full Text

• Madon, T., Hofman, K. J., Kupfer, L., & Glass, R. I. (2007). Public health. implementation science. Science (New York, N.Y.), 318(5857), 1728-1729. doi:10.1126/science.1150009 Full Text

• Cook, B. G., & Odom, S. L. (2013). Evidence-based practices and implementation science in special education. Exceptional Children, 79(2), 135-144. doi:10.1177/001440291307900201 Full Text

• Damschroder, L., & Hagedorn, H. (2011). A guiding framework and approach for implementation research in substance use disorders treatment. Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, 25(2), 194-205. doi:10.1037/a0022284 Full Text

• Breitenstein, S., Gross, D., Garvey, C., Hill, C., Fogg, L., & Resnick, B. (2010). Implementation fidelity in community-based interventions. Research in Nursing & Health, 33(2), 164-173. doi:10.1002/nur.20373 Full Text

Education

• Mejiuni, O., Cranton, P., & Táíwò, O. (2015). Integration of informal learning theory and practice into the study of implementation in healthcare contexts. (pp. 250-272) IGI Global. doi:10.4018/978-1-4666-8265-8.ch017 Full Text

Guidelines, Policy, & Theory

• Crable, E., Biancarelli, D., Walkey, A., Allen, C., Proctor, E., & Drainoni, M. (2018). Standardizing an approach to the evaluation of implementation science proposals.Implementation Science, 13(1), 71-11. doi:10.1186/s13012-018-0770-5 Full Text
• DeSisto, C. L., Kroelinger, C. D., Estrich, C., Velonis, A., Uesugi, K., Goodman, D. A., . . . Rankin, K. M. (2019). Application of an implementation science framework to policies on immediate postpartum long-acting reversible contraception. Public Health Reports, 134(2), 189-196. doi:10.1177/0033354918824329 Full Text
• ​Ekawati, F., Licqurish, S., Emilia, O., Gunn, J., Brennecke, S., & Lau, P. (2019). Developing management pathways for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy (HDP) in indonesian primary care: A study protocol. Reproductive Health, 16(1), 12-10. doi:10.1186/s12978-019-0674-0 Full Text
• Kilbourne, A. M., Hynes, D., O’Toole, T., & Atkins, D. (2018). A research agenda for care coordination for chronic conditions: Aligning implementation, technology, and policy strategies. Translational Behavioral Medicine, 8(3), 515-521. doi:10.1093/tbm/ibx084 Full Text
• Lourida, I., Abbott, R. A., Orr, N., Rogers, M., Thompson-Coon, J., & Lang, I. A. (2017). Strategies, facilitators and barriers to change: A systematic review of implementation research within dementia care. Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 13(7), P502-P502. doi:10.1016/j.jalz.2017.06.562 Full Text
• Lynch, E. A., Mudge, A., Knowles, S., Kitson, A. L., Hunter, S. C., & Harvey, G. (2018). “There is nothing so practical as a good theory”: A pragmatic guide for selecting theoretical approaches for implementation projects. BMC Health Services Research, 18(1), 1-11. doi:10.1186/s12913-018-3671-z Full Text
• Meissner, H., Glasgow, R., Vinson, C., Chambers, D., Brownson, R., Green, L., . . . Mittman, B. (2013). The US training institute for dissemination and implementation research in health.Implementation Science, 8(1), 12-12. doi:10.1186/1748-5908-8-12 Full Text
• Shelton, R., & Lee, M. (2019). Sustaining evidence-based interventions and policies: Recent innovations and future directions in implementation science. American Journal of Public Health, 109(S2), 5132-5134. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2018.304913 Full Text

Health Technology

Nursing

• Vincent, D., Hastings-Tolsma, M., & Stevens, K. R. (2013). Dissemination and implementation research: Intersection between nursing science and health care delivery.Nursing Research and Practice, 2013, 802767-2. doi:10.1155/2013/802767 Full Text

Nutrition

• Rhodes, E. C., Hennink, M., Jefferds, M. E. D., Williams, A. M., Suchdev, P. S., Mapango, C., . . . Tripp, K. (2019). Integrating micronutrient status assessment into the 2015–2016 malawi demographic and health survey: A qualitative evaluation. Maternal & Child Nutrition, 15(S1), e12734-n/a. doi:10.1111/mcn.12734 Full Text

Public Health

• Bodison, S. C., Sankaré, I., Anaya, H., Booker‐Vaughns, J., Miller, A., Williams, P., . . . Community Engagement Workgroup. (2015). Engaging the community in the dissemination, implementation, and improvement of Health‐Related research. Clinical and Translational Science, 8(6), 814-819. doi:10.1111/cts.12342 Full Text
• Lorthios-Guilledroit, A., Richard, L., & Filiatrault, J. (2018). Factors associated with the implementation of community-based peer-led health promotion programs: A scoping review.Evaluation and Program Planning, 68, 19-33. doi:10.1016/j.evalprogplan.2018.01.008 Full Text
• Theobald, S., Brandes, N., Gyapong, M., El-Saharty, S., Proctor, E., Diaz, T., . . . Peters, D. H. (2018). Implementation research: New imperatives and opportunities in global health. The Lancet, 392(10160), 2214-2228. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(18)32205-0 Full Text

Speech & Communication Disorders

• Shelton, R., & Lee, M. (2019). Sustaining evidence-based interventions and policies: Recent innovations and future directions in implementation science. American Journal of Public Health, 109(S2), 5132-5134. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2018.304913 Full Text