Department of Medicine: Specialty Books

Expert, hands-on guidance for managing and treating all major cancers--from the world-renowned physicians at The MD Anderson Cancer Center Comprehensive and authoritative, The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology delivers everything you need to accurately diagnose and effectively treat a wide range cancers--including leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma, lung and breast cancer, genitourinary carcinoma, melanoma, and sarcoma.  This unmatched resource emphasizes practical, actionable steps to cancer treatment, providing "to the point" recommendations, chapter summary boxes, tables, charts, expert opinion and patient education boxes, practice tips, cases, and prescriptive advice. And the new format of this updated edition quickly guides you to the topic, the affiliated relevant chapter, new findings affecting clinical practice, and reference/evidence. NEW format helps you get to the clinical bottom line quicker than ever NEW Q&A, cases, patient education information, expert advice, and more Expanded coverage of immunotherapy treatment--written by the 2018 Nobel Prize-winner for immunology Online content is continually updated Includes a comparative table with guidelines from the European Society of Medical Oncology and the American Society of Clinical Oncology

The acclaimed full-color review of the underlying principles of blood diseases and disorders - based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course A  Doody's Core Title for 2019! LANGE Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition is a well-illustrated, easy-to-absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book also covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. The organization and content of this book are based on a 3-week hematology course given to students in their second year at Harvard Medical School. All of the authors are lecturers in this course and many of the figures have been taken directly or adapted from their lectures. FEATURES OF THE SECOND EDITION: * NEW summary boxes with high yield points to remember * All figures have been redrawn by a single artist for quality and consistency * A more user-friendly presentation * Each chapter includes learning objectives, and self-assessment questions with detailed explanations * Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information Hailed for its uniformity of style, clarity, brevity, and high level of scientific rigor and clinical relevance, LANGE Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition will prove valuable to medical students, as well as physicians at all stages of their training.

The landmark text that has guided generations of hematologists and related practitioners--updated with the latest research findings and improved format and presentation Long revered for its comprehensiveness and extraordinary depth of detail, Williams Hematology delivers virtually every answer you're looking for, provides clear and thorough rationales for each one, and contains a wealth of basic science and translational pathophysiology for optimal, lifelong learning. The cream of the crop of research and clinical hematology, the editors--three of whom are former Presidents of the American Society of Hematology--are known worldwide for their contributions to the field. This new edition contains everything that has made Williams the go-to resource for decades and has been updated with critical new research into the molecular mechanisms responsible for hematological disorders and the impact on diagnosis and treatment.

Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness.  Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review:  * 640+ USMLE-style review questions  * 350+ illustrations  * 140+ tables * 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills  * An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms  * Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies  * Full-color images and micrographs  * Chapter-ending summaries  * Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective. 

Get problem-oriented and disease-specific guidance in treating STDs-in one quick-access source For more than 70 years, professors, students, and clinicians have trusted LANGE for high-quality, current, concise medical information in a convenient, affordable, portable format. Whether for coursework, clerkships, USMLE prep, specialty board review, or patient care, there's a LANGE book that guarantees success. Featuring the trusted, practical format of the CURRENT series, this authoritative, quick-access guide delivers a top-to-bottom overview of STDs commonly encountered in clinical practice. The book begins with an insightful introduction to the field that emphasizes the patient-doctor relationship, and then explores clinical problems with STDs in terms of diagnostic, management, and treatment considerations. A-to-Z, up-to-the-minute coverage of common STDs-filled with crucial point-of-care guidelines A focus on prevention interventions, including counseling, in recognition of the need to change high-risk sexual behaviors Practical diagnostic algorithms that summarize key protocols and facilitate patient management Detailed, easy-to-locate treatment tables that list specific drugs (generic and trade names), doses, and schedules A thought-provoking final chapter that includes a brief discussion of the latest STD research, plus unresolved questions and future concerns Useful appendices that include diagnostic protocols, treatment tables, and websites for further information Authoritative, on-the-spot information you can quickly apply to your practice - without sifting through pages of data An essential clinical companion for internists, family physicians, pediatricians, nurse practitioners, obstetricians-gynecologists, HIV care specialists, and other healthcare professionals who see patients with STDs Turn to any chapter on specific STDs, and you'll find expert perspectives on biology, epidemiology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and issues related to special populations

The landmark text that belongs in the hands of every cardiologist--fully updated and reorganized to make it more patient-centric than ever World-famous for its authority, currency, and clinical relevance, Fuster and Hurst's The Heart is cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet the ever-changing needs of cardiologists, fellows, and interns, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. For this brand-new edition, cardiology legend Dr. Valentin Fuster and his editorial team have significantly enhanced this definitive guide to make it even more focused on the practicalities of patient care. Enhancements include: Content presented in a more methodical pattern, from mechanism to management Chapter summaries and infographics throughout Engaging visual/text features highlighting genetics, epidemiology and natural history, invasive and noninvasive diagnostics, treatment, clinical therapeutic challenges, and risk factors. ACC/AHA/ESC guidelines in all chapters

A concise, authoritative compilation of the essential information needed to diagnose and manage cardiovascular disease Current Diagnosis and Treatment Cardiology, Sixth Edition, covers the latest developments in the field with detailed, consistently structured chapters with sharp clinical images that aid comprehension. Presented in the popular LANGE format, each chapter discusses diagnostic techniques, prevention strategies, treatment, and prognosis. The detailed, uniform structure, and 200+ sharp clinical images, including ECGs, drawings, graphs, and charts aid reader comprehension. This sixth edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect revised guidelines and treatments. NEW content: Cardiac Conduction Disorders and Pacing and Tricuspid and Pulmonic Valve Disease NEW chapters: Cardio-Oncology and Dilated Cardiomyopathy Major revision of Myocarditis chapter covers Covid-19 Essential for board review: Cardiovascular disease is largest part of ABIM internal medicine certification exam NEW devices: Cardiac Conduction Disorders and Pacing and Tricuspid and Pulmonic Valve Disease Medication news: Endocrinology and the Heart, Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction Percutaneous repair and techniques: Aortic Stenosis, Mitral Regurgitation, and Thoracic Aortic Aneurysms and Dissections, and more

The best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE review and course work Concise and engaging, Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology provides everything you need to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. This updated edition is more reader-friendly and includes important updates, design improvements, and fresh perspectives on critical subject matter. Succinct but thorough, the text focuses on the facts and concepts you must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing your ability to evaluate the myriad new information you will be exposed to throughout your career than Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology. Medical students will find it to be an outstanding review for the USMLE® and experienced clinicians will find it to be a valuable clinical refresher. Features Updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field  "Perspectives" in each chapter identify important, currently unresolved issues Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter

Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than 35 years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. Lange's Pulmonary Physiology clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology--one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The Washington Manual of Critical Care , similar to other volumes in this vaunted series, features authors and contributors who are faculty members and practicing physicians at Washington University's School of Medicine. Inside you'll find comprehensive and current information for bedside diagnosis and management of some of the most common illnesses and problems encountered in the ICU setting.Key Features Covers the treatment and management of shock, sepsis, acute episodes of COPD and asthma, myocardial infarctions, organ failure, and other conditions and disorders. Provides overviews of intubation and catheterization procedures, as well as of common drug side effects and drug-drug interactions. Contributors hail from departments in Internal Medicine, Neurology, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Anesthesiology. New chapters have been added on ECLS, critical care ultrasound, rheumatology, and management of transplant patients. Includes concise, easy-to-read diagnosis and treatment algorithms for common conditions, plus bibliographical references for additional, in-depth reading. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.

The definitive guide to the use of mechanical ventilation in critically ill patients - now in full color and updated to reflect the latest advances A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of all the clinical, pharmacological, and technical issues surrounding the use of mechanical ventilation. Editor Martin J. Tobin - past editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine - has enlisted more than 100 authors, all of whom are at the forefront of research in their chosen subfield in order to provide the most authoritative and up-to-date information possible. No other text so thoroughly and comprehensively explores the myriad advances in modes and methodologies that have occurred in this ever-changing field as this cornerstone text. Features: Each chapter has been extensively revised to reflect the latest research A strong focus on the biomedical principles that govern ventilator management Expert insights from contributors in critical care, pulmonary medicine, anesthesiology, surgery, basic science, provide a unique multidisciplinary approach 68 chapters that explore every important aspect of mechanical ventilation, including:Conventional and unconventional methods of ventilator support;Noninvasive methods of ventilator support;Unconventional methods of ventilator support;Physiologic effect of mechanical ventilation;Complications in ventilator supported patients;Weaning of ventilator-support;Management of the ventilator-supported patient;Adjunctive therapy, including fluid management, inhaled antibiotic therapy, and bronchodilator therapy;Ethics and economics Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e comprehensively covers the principles and practice of keeping patients alive through the use of mechanical ventilation, along with related pharmacological and technical issues.

The definitive guide to the clinical and scientific aspects of pulmonary medicine--fully updated with the latest advances in the field Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders delivers unparalleled coverage of pulmonary medicine. With 2,000+ photos and illustrations, 60 videos, and 18,000 references, this peerless resource provides a comprehensive overview of the scientific basis of lung function in healthy people and in those with disease.  You'll find detailed coverage of the broad array of diseases and disorders affecting the respiratory system, including obstructive and restrictive diseases, pulmonary vascular disorders, sleep-disordered breathing, lung neoplasms, respiratory infections, and respiratory failure. And you'll learn all the latest advances, including molecular development of the lung, stem cells and respiratory disease, genetics of pulmonary disease and the growth of personalized medicine, technical advances in lung transplantation, and many more.  Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders provides state-of-the-art coverage of the latest topics in critical care medicine, such as early diagnosis and management of sepsis, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS), acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), management of agitation and delirium in the ICU, and the newly defined entity of "chronic critical illness" New to this edition: *State-of-the-art reviews of the literature made available online *Expanded editorial team provides new perspectives *References streamlined to include only the latest information in pulmonary clinical medicine  *Table of Contents revised to highlight the most important areas of concern for clinicians

Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology, Ninth Edition, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - coverage is from basic science to clinical applications. Trusted for over 50 years, this most comprehensive single volume on respiratory physiology will prove invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for physiologists and the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field. Now fully revised and updated, this ninth edition includes a larger page format for improved clarity, as well as full access to the complete, downloadable eBook version. This incorporates BONUS chapters, handy topic summaries, interactive self-assessment material and a NEW series of expert lectures on key topics. The result is a more flexible, engaging and complete resource than ever before. Enhancements to this edition include: A new dedicated chapter on obesity - covering the effects of this global challenge on the physiology of the respiratory system in health and disease, in both adults and children Expanded coverage of the adverse effects of hyperoxia - including the physiology of the now popular technique of high-flow nasal therapy A revised section on air pollution - reflecting the growing importance and understanding of the impact of pollution on the lungs and other body systems, along with the latest worldwide guidelines Detailed coverage of artificial ventilation during general anaesthesia - covering post-operative respiratory complications and the physiological basis of current best-practice for optimizing ventilation Print comes with enhanced eBook - includes access to the complete, fully searchable text, PLUS: bonus chapters handy chapter summaries interactive self-assessment material a NEW series of 25 expert lectures focusing on the most essential topics in respiratory physiology

Through 10 outstanding editions, Kelley & Firestein's Textbook of Rheumatology has provided authoritative, in-depth guidance in rheumatology with an ideal balance of basic science and clinical application. The 11th Edition of this classic text continues this tradition of excellence, while keeping you abreast of recent advances in genetics and the microbiome, new therapies such as biologics and biosimilars, and other rapid changes in the field. It provides comprehensive, global coverage of all aspects of diagnosis, screening, and treatment in both adults and children, in a user-friendly, full color reference. Covers everything from basic science, immunology, anatomy, and physiology to diagnostic tests, procedures, and specific disease processes-including key data on therapeutic outcomes to better inform clinical decision making. Includes new chapters on Innate Lymphoid Cells and Natural Killer Cells, Pathogenesis of Inflammasome Mediated Diseases, Bisphosphonates, Ultrasound Evaluation of the Musculoskeletal System, and Evaluation of Monoarticular and Polyarticular Arthritis. Features 1,200 high-quality illustrations, including superb line art, quick-reference tables, and full-color clinical photographs. Shares the knowledge and expertise of internationally renowned scientists and clinicians, including new editor Dr. Gary Koretzky, specialist in immunology and rheumatology. Demonstrates the complete musculoskeletal exam in online videos, including abnormal findings and the arthroscopic presentation of diseased joints. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Covering both the scientific basis of rheumatology and practical, clinical information for rheumatologists and trainees, Rheumatology, 8th Edition, remains a leading text in this fast-changing field. Dr. Marc Hochberg and his team of worldwide editors and authors keep you abreast of recent advances in the field- all in a user-friendly, accessible manner. Fully updated from cover to cover, this two-volume text is designed to meet the needs of all practicing and academic rheumatologists as well as arthritis-related health care professionals and scientists interested in rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. Covers the epidemiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, therapeutic approach, and management of all major as well as rarely encountered rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. Discusses clinical examination, imaging principles, differential diagnosis, established and novel therapies, perioperative evaluation, pain management, basic science, and genetics of rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. Uses a consistent, logical, reader-friendly format with templated chapters, concise text, and large-scale, state-of-the-art illustrations for efficient visual reference. Contains new chapters covering pre-clinical disease and how to address these patients, common comorbidities in rheumatoid arthritis; emerging therapies for systemic sclerosis; immune mediated complications of checkpoint inhibitors; the epidemiology of COVID-19 and rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases, emerging treatments for osteoarthritis, and big data analytics. Provides updates to key topics such as systems biology and its impact on our understanding of the pathogenesis of rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases, the microbiome in rheumatic musculoskeletal diseases, how to manage chronic pain in the patient with a rheumatic disease, drugs and reproductive health, and emerging therapies for patients with RA, SLE, spondyloarthritis, inflammatory muscle disease, and vasculitis. Shares the knowledge and expertise of numerous new contributing authors, as well as new co-editor Dr. Désirée van der Heijde, who is an expert in psoriatic arthritis, spondyloarthritis, imaging, and clinical epidemiology. Provides access to concise videos depicting the use of ultrasound for diagnosis and treatment. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. If you encounter issues with your eBook please contact Elsevier eBook+ support via textbookscom.support@elsevier.com.

Effectively perform and interpret musculoskeletal ultrasound with this concise, highly illustrated resource by Jon A. Jacobson, MD. Fully revised, this bestselling title covers all the essential details of musculoskeletal ultrasound imaging, providing a solid understanding of the technique and how to make accurate diagnoses. It takes a concise, clear, and step-by-step approach to all of the most common musculoskeletal ultrasound applications, with specific details on anatomy, patient positioning, scanning techniques, normal and abnormal findings, tips, and pitfalls. A succinct, highly accessible writing style makes information easy to understand. Over 200 narrated video clips of real-time dynamic ultrasound imaging provide instruction in a succinct, didactic format, highlighting key findings. Common percutaneous ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal procedures are demonstrated, including transducer and needle positioning. Nearly 400 new ultrasound images show scanning technique, anatomy, and essential pathology. Over 200 narrated video clips of real-time dynamic ultrasound imaging provide instruction in a succinct, didactic format, highlighting key findings. Newly revised information throughout helps you grasp essential concepts in diagnostic musculoskeletal ultrasound, ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal procedures, and much more. Chapter 1, Introduction and Chapter 2, Basic Pathology Concepts now included in both print and electronic versions. Thoroughly revised text, references, and images keep you up to date. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

The most accessible, current coverage of rheumatologic disorders A Doody's Core Title for 2023!  Offers assessment and management solutions for rheumatologic diseases, ranging from soft-tissue problems such as bursitis to complex, multi-organ conditions such as ANCA-associated vasculitis Provides expert guidance on the medications used in the treatment of rheumatic disease, including the latest biologic therapies Delivers concise, practical guidance for internists, family physicians, rheumatologists, trainees, and medical students Updated to reflect the latest research and findings NEW chapters on genetics and musculoskeletal ultrasound Expanded chapter on laboratory diagnosis

A thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations. Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoulder, knee, and neck and low back Each chapter is similarly organized to include: Introduction, Clinical Utility and Objectives; Essential Concepts and Clinical History; Overview and Component Parts of the Examination; a Practice Checklist, and brief descriptions of Common Clinical Problems. Superb photographs support the text and enhance the learning process.

A practical, up-to-date guide to the diagnosis, understanding, and treatment of kidney problems and hypertension in adult patients "In contrast to many other books in this area, this one provides a concise yet comprehensive review of each topic without getting lost in too much detail..." - Doody's Review Service (review of previous edition) Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow CURRENT format, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, Second Edition delivers incisive, ready-to-use management protocols and valuable therapeutic guidelines from authors who are recognized as the field's foremost authorities. This essential clinical companion features a practical learn-as-you-go approach to diagnosing and treating renal disorders and hypertension that combines disease management techniques with the latest proven therapies.  *NEW! Chapter-ending clinically based Q&A  *NEW CHAPTERS include The Kidney in Malignancy, Chronic Kidney Disease-Mineral Bone Disorder (CKD-MBD), Palliative Care Nephrology, and Clinical Pharmacology and the Kidney *Fifty-nine chapters deliver a one-of-a-kind overview of all major diseases and disorders, from end-stage renal disease to primary and secondary hypertension *Emphasizes the clinical aspects of kidney care, while also providing comprehensive discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Includes an important review of subspecialty considerations: dialysis, transplantation, critical care nephrology, interventional nephrology, palliative care nephrology, clinical renal pharmacology, as well as a new area of specialization - onco-nephrology *Consistently formatted chapters make it easy to locate the essential information you need on diagnosis, testing, disease processes, and the latest treatment and management strategies *Valuable as a clinical refresher or for board review *Strikes the perfect  balance between clinical necessity and brevity

The best review of renal physiology available for USMLE® Step 1--completely updated with the latest research Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Tenth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: The text begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles All chapters have been revised to reflect the latest research and developments in the field Includes learning aids such as flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations Focuses on the goals of renal processes and the logic of them Presents the normal function of the kidney with clinical correlations to disease states

Gain a complete understanding of the functioning of the gastrointestinal system with this concise, engagingly written text Gastrointestinal Physiology explains the operation and performance of one of the body's most crucial systems. Using clear, compelling language, the book's presentation makes it easy to absorb the content andintegrate it as you learn the physiology of other bodilysystems. Written to help you understand essential conceptsrather than merely memorize facts, this unique textexamines many medically relevant facets of this important body system, including anatomy, pathophysiology, andtherapeutics, in concert with physiological information. FEATURES: Provides a thorough review of core concepts and highlights clinical application Covers the physiologic principles needed to understand and treat patients with digestive and liver diseases Includes clinical examples that link basic science with the practice of medicine Incorporates new information on emerging topics such as the communication between the intestine and central nervous system that controls food intake, the myriad rolesnewly ascribed to the intestinal microbiota, contemporary approaches to therapy for a number of GI maladies, and the role of the gut in obesity Enhanced by valuable learning aids such as study questions, learning objectives, key concepts, numerous illustrations and charts, and recommended readings

A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019!  Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology delivers a succinct, leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan's is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology, endocrinology rotation, or exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology and as reference for disease management. Greenspan's provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan. Here's why Greenspan's is an essential tool for learning how to manage endocrine patients: * The Tenth Edition is enhanced by updated content throughout each chapter * NEW CHAPTERS on Transgender Endocrinology and Disorders of Sexual Determination and Differentiation * Important chapter on Evidence-Based Endocrinology and Clinical Epidemiology * Concise, balanced coverage of both scientific and clinical principles that guide patient management * The best source for current concepts in endocrine pathophysiology to aid clinical decision making * The most practical, current insights into diagnostic testing * More than 270 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs If you are in need of a well-illustrated, completely up-to-date guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology, this trusted classic belongs on your desk or computer.  

Thoroughly updated to reflect today's recent advances in adult and pediatric endocrinology, DeGroot's Endocrinology, 8th Edition, remains the comprehensive, international reference of choice for today's endocrinologists and fellows. A full peer review of the previous edition, conducted by a largely new group of renowned editors, was used to update this trusted, two-volume resource. In-depth coverage of both basic and clinical aspects of endocrinology and up-to-date information on the treatment and management of endocrine disorders are provided by a diverse group of expert contributors from six continents. A full-color format and helpful algorithms summarize clinical decision-making and practical approaches to patient management. Organizes content by all the glands that regulate the endocrine system while integrating basic science and clinical presentations of disease.  Includes new chapters: Anatomy and Physiology of the Hypothalmus and Pituitary, Differentiated Thyroid Cancer, Medullary Thyroid Cancer, Drugs that Affect Thyroid Function, Genetic Disorders of the Adrenal Cortex, Adrenal Pathology, Primary Aldosteronism, Transgender Healthcare, Erectile Dysfunction, Prevalence and Causes of Male Infertility, Sexual Dysfunction in the Female, Glucose Toxicity and Oxidative Stress.  Emphasizes basic science and evidence-based practice throughout.  Features extensive updates to content on thyroid and adrenal disfunction, endocrine-disrupting chemicals and human disease, clinical management of diabetes, and advances in genetics.  Includes algorithms to outline effective treatment protocols.  Contains new emphasis boxes that highlight key points in each chapter.   Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 

Master the aspects of endocrine physiology required in clinical medicine and ace the USMLE Endocrine Physiology delivers unmatched coverage of the fundamental concepts of hormone biological actions--providing the foundation you need to understand the physiologic mechanisms involved in neuroendocrine regulation of organ function. The first chapter walks you through organization of the endocrine system, as well as general concepts of hormone production and release, transport and metabolic rate, and cellular mechanisms of action. Emphasizing must-know principles, Endocrine Physiology is essential for residents and fellows and is the single-best endocrine review available for the USMLE® Step 1. Features Boxed case studies show how to apply principles to real-world clinical situations Bulleted objectives, key concepts, study questions, suggested readings, and diagrams encapsulating key concepts Pedagogical throughout

Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields A  Doody's Core Title for 2023! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research.   The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed.   Features: Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion    of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception    and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model  Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout  

Understand the role of epidemiology in clinical medicine for the best patient outcomes possible For nearly a quarter of a century, Medical Epidemiology has been the go-to text for understanding the principles and concepts of epidemiology and the relationship between population-based science and efficient patient care. It delivers the most current information on patterns of disease occurrence and risk factors - all clearly linked to clinical practice through the use of Health Scenarios in every chapter. This edition of Medical Epidemiology has been completely rewritten to reflect the transformative changes in the manner in which epidemiologic methods are being utilized in today's healthcare as well as the major shifts that have occurred at the policy level. New chapters have been added on many timely topics, including global health, social determinants of health, health inequalities, comparative effectiveness, quality of care, variations in care, and implementation science. Increased information about evaluating, summarizing, and using evidence for improved patient care and outcomes gives this edition an even greater clinical focus.

A complete how-to-guide for incorporating precision medicine into any type of practice The Application of Precision Medicine is a practical, succinct, high-yield book for medical professionals who want to learn how genomic medicine can and should be practiced in their specific field of interest.  Unlike similar books on the subject, this unique text bypasses the basic science and more advance genetic science, and focuses solely on what a practitioner needs to know on a daily basis.  The Application of Precision Medicine follows the course of a human life, beginning before conception through pregnancy, childhood, and adulthood, discussing the current and future applications of genomics and precision medicine at each stage. This organization allows healthcare providers to easily find the information relevant to their practice. A major focus of the book is the inclusion of limitations and potential pitfalls at each stage of life.