LibGuides: Grey Literature in Health Sciences: Home

Grey Literature Sources for Health Sciences

Sigma Repository (formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository)
The Sigma Repository is a free, online service that collects, preserves, and disseminates digital materials related to all aspects of nursing research. In 2012, the repository expanded to include full-text submissions.
Agency for Healthcare Rearch and Quaility (AHRQ)
AHRQ's mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.

ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
Current information about clinical trials in the US and other countries. Trial protocols can provide data for research and identify principal investigators.

HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
Searchable information about health services research projects' in progress and archived projects before results are available in a published format. Additional data on your subject may be found by searching publications of the principal investigators.
The Grey Literature Report
Grey literature published between 1999 - 2016 in health services research and selected health topics. If a report is older, try finding a more recent version. Although the database has not been updated since 2017, their publisher's list provides links to organizations that produce grey literature
more...less...
Produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine
Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank
This database defines think tanks as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. Reports from partisan and non-partisan think tanks are included

ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. Individual registration is required to access guidelines.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Find millions of global dissertations and theses, dating back to 1743. Items added since 1997 generally available in full text.

Google Advanced Search
The Advanced search in Google allows you to target searches by domains (.gov, .edu, .org) and restrict keyword searches to specific fields like title, or URL
Mednar
A free, medically focused search engine that searches across multiple databases in real-time. Promoted as a "deep web" alternative to Google.
National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (publication arm of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
more...less...
Please click on "read online" or Download PDF to view the publication for free. Prices listed refer print versions of these items. To search the database, separate keywords by commas. Terms not separated by commas are searched as a phrase.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
The website of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine contains reports, discussion papers, presentations and other materials on a wide range of topics.

Gale Directory Library (formerly Associations Unlimited) This link opens in a new window
The Gale Directory Library includes the Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations; and National Directory of Nonprofit Associations. Search the directories by subject to find associations that may publish reports and other grey literature.

iDEA -Drexel DNP Projects
Browse DNP projects written by Drexel Students in iDEA - Drexel University's Repository
Ohio State DNP Projects
Ohio State University DNP projects
Frontier University DNP Projects
Scholarly projects and capstones completed by Frontier Nursing University's Doctor of Nursing Practice students.

OAIster
The Open Archives Initiative (pronounced like oyster), provides access to institutional repositories world-wide. Many of the documents are available in full-text.
more...less...
Results can be limited by language, year, format, author and topic
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

Evaluating Grey Literature
The AACODS Checklist, put together by Jess Tyndal at Flinders University, is a good resource for evaluating grey literature.
Finding Grey Literature Evidence and Assessing for Outcome and Analysis Reporting Biases When Comparing Medical Interventions: AHRQ and the Effective Health Care Program
This is a chapter from the AHRQ document Methods and Guides for Effective and Comparative Research. The chapter focuses on difference sources of grey literature related to drugs and devices and how to assess reporting bias within reports

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Drexel University Libraries
W. W. Hagerty Library
3300 Market St
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-895-2765

Subjects: Behavioral Sciences & Therapies, Creative Arts in Therapy, Food and Hospitality Management, Health Sciences, Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Nursing & Health Professions, Nutrition & Food Science, Temporary Resource Access During COVID-19 Outbreak