LibGuides: Medical Students Year 1 Required and Recommended Reading: Library Resources for Medicine

Clinical Information Resources

DynaMed Plus
A clinical reference tool that contains summaries of diseases and other topics, written by physicians, with information about diagnosis, treatment options, etc.
All the information in DynaMed is linked back to the original practice guidelines and articles that provided the evidence. Evidence is graded based on the quality of the study methodology and the results.
ClinicalKey
Search across topic summaries, books, journals, drug monographs, practice guidelines, patient educaton materials, images, and videos. ClinicalKey serves as both a clinical reference tool and a research database.

more... less...

The Procedures Consult collection within ClinicalKey provides video overviews of common procedures in a variety of disciplines.
AccessMedicine
Primarily for online access to medical texts, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, AccessMedicine also includes practice guidelines, drug monographs, video, images, and cases.
PubMed Clinical Queries
The PubMed Clinical Queries tool allows you to quickly narrow any search topic to systematic reviews or a specific category of clinical studies (e.g. diagnosis, therapy).

Research Resources: Searching the Scholarly Literature

A selected list of subject-specific scholarly literature databases in the biomedical sciences:

PubMed
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.

more... less...

PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publically accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
Ovid Medline
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences on the Ovid platform.

more... less...

browser requirements for using OVID (as of 08/01/18):
• Chrome version 30 or greater
• Internet Explorer version 9 or greater. For versions 9-10, TLS 1.2 is disabled by default so you will need to enable it in the browser settings if this hasn’t already been done
• Microsoft Edge: All versions are compliant
• Firefox version 24 or greater. For versions 24-26, TLS 1.2 is disabled by default so you will need to enable it in the browser settings if this hasn’t already been done.
• Safari version 7 or greater
• Safari mobile 5 or greater
CINAHL
Literature on nursing, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Content includes fulltext access to more than 600 journals and citations for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings.

more... less...

Keywords: nurse, biomedicine, integrative medicine, nutrition, art therapy, healthcare, health policy, rehabilitation, wellness
Cochrane Library
Specialized literature in health sciences, including clinical research and healthcare. It includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and databases of clinical trials, and non-Cochrane systematic reviews.

more... less...

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are peer-reviewed systematic reviews that summarize and assess current research for clinical treatment decisions.
Keywords: systematic review, evidence-based medicine
PsycINFO
PsycINFO comprehensively indexes the literature of psychology/behavioral sciences, including journals, books and book chapters, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans 1800 - present; monograph indexing extends back to 1600.

more... less...

Keywords: psychology, behavioral health, behavioral sciences
Web of Science
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.

Tools & Videos

Browzine
Browzine is a platform to browse current issues of scholarly journals. Create an account to save favorite journnals and get alerts for new issues. Download the app to get journal articles on your mobile device.
Citation Management Tools
Citation Management tools help you organize the results of your scholarly literature research. Use this guide from Drexel Libraries to choose one.

Bates' visual guide to physical examination

Online, interactive clinical skills training for students in the health sciences including, nursing, occupational therapy, physican assistant, and exercise science.Contains videos featuring step-by-step, head-to-toe, and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as interactive clinical reasoning modules and interpersonal skills videos.

Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

Medical Students Year 1 Required and Recommended Reading

More Information about Drexel University Libraries

Get Help

Clinical Information Resources

Research Resources: Searching the Scholarly Literature

A selected list of subject-specific scholarly literature databases in the biomedical sciences:

Tools & Videos