It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History -- History of Science and HIST 280-281-282: Home
Useful Web Resources
Find Articles - History
Start with searching for articles in Summon then try these more specialized resources.
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Provides full text coverage of over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide and serves as the master index of scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Keywords: medical humanities, alchemy
Find full text for leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, as well as scholarly eBooks. Most journals provide content from the first year of publication through 3 years ago.
Call Number: Hagerty 2nd Floor Q125 .O86 2003 and Electronic
Publication Date: 2003
“Modern” is defined as 1550 to contemporary times. Includes a broad array of brief articles covering all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies. International in scope.
American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the officially received perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films.
An ongoing project to develop, “an open, distributed network of comprehensive online resources that would draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums in order to educate, inform, and empower everyone in current and future generations.”
Search for archival materials in WorldCat by selecting the “Archival Materials” from the “Format” list on the Advanced Search page. Also available as an iPhone/Android app.
Find Primary Sources via Free Library of Philadelphia
Many significant primary source collections are avialable from the Free Library of Philadelphia. Drexel students and faculty are eligible for library cards from the FLP. Library card number and PIN are needed for remote access. Some resources are only available onsite at the FLP's Central Library.
Fourteen volumes and four supplements. An authoritative source for information on deceased scientists who have made significant contributions to the history of science. International in scope and covering all periods from antiquity to the twentieth century.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is a searchable version of the manual with answers to style and editing questions, as well as the Q&A Content. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.