LibGuides: Biomaterials, Biomechanics, Cardiovascular Engineering, Neruoengineering, Tissue Engineering and Ultrasound Imaging: Home

Finding books

Try a keyword search in DragonSearch. Filter search results by 'Material Type-Book Chapter.
To find additional books on any topic, search using 'Advanced Keyword searching'.

Electronic Books

Search in various electronic book collections about topics related to biomedical engineering

Chronobioengineering: Introduction to Biological Rhythms with Applications

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering prepares students to solve real-world problems, provides access to upper-level textbooks at no additional cost, enables faculty to integrate practical resources into their courses, and helps professionals find relevant information faster, driving increased ROI.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical information resources. Comprised primarily of eBooks, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, it also includes drug monographs, video, images, and cases.
Note: Use of some features, such as quizzes, requires setting up a personal account with AccessMedicine.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
**Browser Compatibility note: AccessScience is best viewed using Firefox, IE, or Safari. Google Chrome may yield an error**

Online science platform, featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, biographies of scientific figures, images, and videos.
Ebrary [ProQuest Ebook Central] This link opens in a new window
Ebrary is now part of ProQuest Ebook Central. Ebook Central offers over 100,000 ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
EBSCO Ebooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost ebooks provide over 300,000 titles across multiple subject areas.
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures.
IET Ebooks 2022-2023 This link opens in a new window
Ebooks published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology from 2022 and 2023.

Note: Link goes to all IET ebooks from 1979-present; Drexel only has access to ebooks published in 2022 and 2023.
IGI Global Gateway This link opens in a new window
Focuses on specialized topics in information science and technology and the related organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications. Includes full text collection of peer reviewed journals and eBooks, as well as streaming video lectures.
Knovel Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Engineering decision-support solution enabling students to solve problems faster. Its powerful search and interactive analytical tools help students find answers to technical questions through best practice insights, validated equations, and materials and property data from various providers.
Safari: O’Reilly’s Learning Platform for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online. There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books.
Skillport from Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new window
Skillport®is a web-based Learning Management System (LMS) that provides access to content covering IT & digital skills, business and finance, and leadership development applied to various disciplines. Content types include: articles, eBooks and audiobooks, book summaries, case studies, certification materials, electronic handbooks and how-to books, instructional videos, and live events. Keywords: accounting, business, certification, compliance, digital, engineering, entrepreneurship, finance, government, human resources, IT, information technology, leadership, management, technology, well-being, books24x7
Create a profile using your Drexel email address to set preferences, enable notifications, create a personal learning plan, and view bookmarks, book notes, and downloaded book chapters. Each user is entitled to 15 chapter downloads every 90 days.
SpringerLINK Computer Science eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reports on the latest results from all areas of computer science and information technology research, development, and education. Includes Lecture Notes In Computer Science

Electronic Reference

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering prepares students to solve real-world problems, provides access to upper-level textbooks at no additional cost, enables faculty to integrate practical resources into their courses, and helps professionals find relevant information faster, driving increased ROI.
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures.

Finding Articles

Try DragonSearch to find peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals.

Use relevant research keywords related to your topic.
For example, type ‘Stem cells' and click on Search.
Refine your search results by selecting options such as 'peer review' and 'Articles and more'.
Explore your results, find and access papers you need.

Browzine Web This link opens in a new window
Interface that facilitates browsing of journal issues and retrieval of electronic full text articles from them. With setting up of individual account, allows syncing of browsing and reading lists across devices.

Electronic Databases

Use databases below to find scholarly journal articles about the topic of your research project.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical information resources. Comprised primarily of eBooks, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, it also includes drug monographs, video, images, and cases.
Note: Use of some features, such as quizzes, requires setting up a personal account with AccessMedicine.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access full text articles on computer science, software and computer engineering published in the Association for Computing Machinery periodicals, transactions, and proceedings since 1985. Keywords: digital media, game design
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Find journals published by Annual Reviews.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, including the ASTM journals and symposia papers.
Also known as ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Keywords: Biomedical engineering, Mechanical engineering, Mechanics
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Search across content in medicine and biomedical sciences. Includes books, journals, drug monographs, practice guidelines, images, and videos.
The Procedures Consult collection within ClinicalKey provides video overviews of common procedures in a variety of disciplines.
Keywords: clinical key, mdconsult, md consult
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a search interface for Compendex, Inspec, Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB), and Knovel databases. It provides access to articles from scientific journals and conference proceedings, access to electronic books through Knovel database, offers support for varying engineering research initiatives, and helps discover engineering-related jobs.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than four-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, biomedical engineering, computer science and electronics.
IET Journal Archive 1872-2012 This link opens in a new window
The IET Journals span all areas of engineering and technology – covering the disciplines of electrical, electronics, computing, control, biomedical and communications technologies.
IET Research Hub on Wiley This link opens in a new window
The IET Journals covering the disciplines of electrical, electronics, computing, control, biomedical and communications technologies are now fully gold Open Access, allowing researchers and practitioners around the world immediate and free access to current IET Journals content. As well as publishing current research Open Access, all articles published from 2013 are freely available on the IET Research hub.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Find millions of global dissertations and theses, dating back to 1743. Items added since 1997 generally available in full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine to facilitate searching the biomedical literature. The MEDLINE databases found within PubMed contains journals that have been reviewed by a panel of experts for quality. PubMed also contains PMC, which contains publicly accessible literature that have not necessarily gone through the same review process.
Keywords: biomedical sciences, medicine, basic science, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, kinesiology, neurosciences, neurobiology, nutrition, anatomy, health
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1500 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas.
Keywords: Science direct
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers more than 36,000 titles from over 11,000 publishers, nearly all of which are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. It covers three types of sources: book series, journals, and trade journals. All journals covered in the Scopus database, regardless of who they are published under, are reviewed each year to ensure high quality standards are maintained. Searches in Scopus also incorporate searches of patent databases. Scopus gives four types of quality measure for each title; those are h-Index, CiteScore, SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper).
SPIE Digital Library - ebooks This link opens in a new window
SPIE eBooks is a collection of titles from SPIE Press, the largest independent publisher of optics and photonics books. The collection includes all of the top SPIE Press monographs, reference works, field guides, tutorial texts, and Spotlight eBooks to keep researchers current on the latest science and technology and advancing their own work.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Engineering Standards

Engineering Standards:

See
- Engineering Standards

See aso:

IEEE Standards:

IEEE Xplore - Click on Standards
With an active portfolio of nearly 1,300 standards and projects under development, IEEE is a leading developer of industry standards in a broad range of technologies.

Defense and federal specifications and standards

ASSIST Quick Search

Searching for standards from other organizations such as ISO or SAE.

Find standard number and the title for each standard you need from the other organizations.

ANSI Store - Search for ISO, IEC and other standards
Techstreet

To obtain any other standards, or if you have any other questions, please contact Jay Bhatt, Liaison Librarian for Engineering, Hagerty Library room 127, Phone: 215-895-1873. Email: bhattjj@drexel.edu

Biomaterials, Biomechanics, Cardiovascular Engineering, Neruoengineering, Tissue Engineering and Ultrasound Imaging

Subject Guide