Medical Devices, Intellectual Property and Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.

See 'General information concerning patents' and Patent FAQ

A patent is a property right granted by the Government of the United States of America to an inventor "to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the United States or importing the invention into the United States" for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted.

New to Patent Searching? See this important information about searching for patents:

• Multi-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy- Outlines a suggested procedure for patent searching

• Patent Classification System

Other patent sources: 

PATENTSCOPE:  Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 36 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT).

The Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to present.

The Intellectual Property Digital Library- WIPO GOLD-IP Reference Resource 

WIPO GOLD is a free public resource which provides a one-stop gateway to WIPO’s global collections of searchable IP data. It aims to facilitate universal access to IP information.

See 'Office of Applied Innovation',  Looking for a technology or invention to commercialize? Drexel currently has hundreds of technologies in many industry categories for your browsing. See also Drexel's  'Intellectual Property Policy'.

Other patent sources: 

PATENTSCOPE:  Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 36 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT).

Espacenet

The Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s to present.

Bionanotechnology ebook - available from the Synthesis Digital Library

Nanotechnology Databases:  Comprehensive databases for nanomaterials, events, products,
companies, research labs, degree programs and publications. Read more: Nanowerk Nanomaterial Database

Nanodot: the original nanotechnology weblog from the Foresight Institute.

Nanotechnology related initiatives

• National Nanotechnology Initiative
• Nanomedicine from NIH

Biomedical Devices

• Biodesign and innovation
• EMBASE
• Classify your Medical Device
• Latest FDA Medical Devices approvals
• FDA Medical Devices 
• 510(K) overview
• FDA Device Advice
• FDA Approval Process
• FDA Drug Approval Process
• FDA - Search Medical Devices in releasable 501(k) database
• ICD-9-CM Diagnosis and Procedure Codes: Abbreviated and Full Code Titles 
• Devices@FDA - a catalog of approved medical devices
• Medical Device Recalls
• Medical Device safety Guidelines
• Medical Device Reporting
• Medical Devices Directive

• Access Medicine
• Books@OVID
• Clinical Key
• Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Online References
• MATERIALSnetBASE
• ProQuest Ebook Central [formerly Ebrary]

• Devices@FDA - a catalog of approved medical devices
• Recently Approved Medical devices by FDA
• Medical Device Safety
• Biomechanics, Cardiovascular engineering, Neuroengineering, Tissue engineering, Ultrasonics  related resources - Library Guide