Researching a Company

Founded in 2001, Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. Free registration required.

From Foundation Directory Online, FDO Quick Start provides free,access to information about over 100,000 foundations and over 250,000 IRS Forms 990-PF. Free registration required.

Look up the Forms 990 of private foundations, public charities, and other nonprofits. 990 Finder gives you free access to nearly 3 million of the most recent Forms 990 and 990-PF filed by nonprofit organizations with Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

The Foundation Center's Foundation Stats provides the most comprehensive resource available for generating tables and charts on the size, scope, and giving priorities of the U.S. foundation community.

GuideStar is "the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations." Free registration required in order to access more detailed information available in free version.

From the independent, nonprofit newsroom ProPublica, use this database to view summaries of tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and financial details such as executive compensation, revenue, and expenses. Browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 9.6 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.

The NCCS Data Archive contains all the IRS Business Master Files, NCCS Core Files, Digitized Data Files, and IRS Statistics of Income Division Exempt Organizations Sample Files previously accessed through registration on http://nccsweb.urban.org. The NCCS Data Archive also contains the new NCCS 2014 and 2015 Core files, and will be the primary source for updated NCCS data going forward.

The Free Library of Philadelphia offers several databases for researching non-profit entities. Includes subscription versions of Foundation Directory and GuideStar.