Skip to Main Content
Drexel Library

Chemical and Biological Engineering

This course guide includes useful resources to assist students to find relevant information needed for their research, design projects, and assignments.

Cite Your Sources!

Make sure that you are correctly citing the work that came before yours!  Use appropriate references and a consistent citation style.

Reusing Previously Published Work

Want to include a previously published figure, image, or text excerpt in your project?

Not only do you need to cite your source, you must ensure that you have the permission of the rights holder to reprint the material.  Most journals partner with a company called Copyright Clearance Center to manage online requests for permission, but sometimes it is necessary to contact a publisher or author directly. 

Once you have permission, tell your reader that permission has been granted by means of a statement in the text or figure caption: "Reprinted with permission from SOURCE." 

Need help? Contact one of your friendly librarians, who will be happy to guide you through the process.

EndNote

Download EndNote 21 (desktop)

Do *not* download trial version directly from endnote.com

For student computers, and personally-owned staff and faculty computers:

  1. Sign on to Drexel's OnTheHub: Online Store with your Drexel ID and password
  2. Select EndNote 21
  3. Select the Student or Faculty/Staff tab. 
  4. Click the EndNote 21 Icon.
  5. Click  the Add to Cart Link. 
  6. Select the EndNote icon to download. Save the  EndNote21 product key - you will use it later in the installation.
  7. Select the MAC or Window download option.
  8. Open the EndNote 21 file and enter the product key when prompted. Install any new updates.

SEE also: EndNote 21 Citation Manager (Desktop)  and EndNote Online

Mendeley

Mendeley is a paper management system that manages pdfs, creates bibliographic references for them, and inserts these references into papers.  It is a freely downloadable software package that synchs with an online storage site.

The following resources may be helpful for Mendeley users.

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management tool designed to help gather, organize, store, annotate, and share all types of resources for scholarly projects or research. This guide will walk you through how to download and effectively use Zotero. See also: Zotero library guide.

​Zotero can help by:
  • Creating style specific formatted reference lists in APA, MLA, Chicago, and more.
  • Organizing resources into folders and with tags.
  • Importing citations directly and indirectly from databases.
  • Inserting in-text citations and references lists directly into Microsoft Word or Google Docs.
  • Sharing citations and source lists.
  • Attaching notes, links, files, and annotating & highlighting PDFs.

Comparison of Selected Citation Management Tools

EndNote Desktop

  • EndNote is produced by Clarivate Analytics; it is available to students, staff and faculty by site license through Drexel University IT.  Instructions for downloading and installing EndNote 21 on university-owned and personally-owned computers is available at https://drexel.edu/it/help/a-z/endnote/.
  • Allows direct import from 500+ databases, online searching of 6000+ databases.
  • Citation library is stored locally, with unlimited reference and attachment storage; can be synced to EndNote Web (see below) for online availability and sharing of either a full library, or specific citation groups.
  • Retrieves full-text of journal articles via Libraries' linking utility; PDF, spreadsheet, graphic or document (word processor) files can be attached to citations. Attached PDFs can be annotated, highlighted and searched (full-text); citations created automatically from DOIs and other metadata.
  • Integrates with Microsoft Word and Google Docs; 6000+ predefined bibliographic formatting styles; can create customized styles.

EndNote Online

  • EndNote Online is the web-based version of EndNote, also produced by Clarivate Analytics. An account can be set up directly at https://access.clarivate.com/login?app=endnote or established as part of the installation process for EndNote Desktop.
  • Allows direct import from, or online search of a limited number of databases.
  • Citation library is stored online, limited to 50,000 references, 2GB attachment storage space. Citation groups can be shared with other EndNote Web users.
  • Integrates with Microsoft Word with 21 predefined bibliographic formatting styles

Mendeley

  • Mendeley is a combined desk-top and web program, now owned by Elsevier Publishers.
  • Mendeley requires the user to store all basic citation data on its servers—storing copies of documents is at the user's discretion. Upon registration, Mendeley provides the user with 2 GB of free web storage space, which is upgradeable at a cost.  Since its 1.19 release in 2018 Mendeley encrypts its local database using a proprietary algorithm, making it difficult for users to export their data from the application.
  • Attached PDFs can be annotated, highlighted and searched (full-text); citations created automatically from DOIs and other metadata.
  • Mendeley supports creation of bibliographies and citations in Microsoft Word, OpenOffice and LibreOffice.
  • Social networking features include newsfeeds, commenting, public profiles; private groups allow collaborative tagging and annotation.
  • Guide to Mendeley Reference Manager (Elsevier)

Zotero

  • Zotero is a free, open source developed by the Corporation for Digital Scholarship and the Roy Rozensweig Center for History and New Media. It combines desk-top and web-based applications.
  • Citation data and associated files can be stored locally, and can be synced to online account. Free online storage is limited to 300 MB.
  • PDFs, notes, images and other files can be attached to Zotero items; citations can be created from DOIs and other PDF metadata.
  • Zotero supports creation of bibliographies and citations in Word, LibreOffice and Google Docs, with support for 9,000 citation styles.
  • Accounts on Zotero's web application allow the creation of both public (open and closed) and private groups for collaboration.