What kinds of materials are available in the Library & Archives?
The L&A collections include the Reference Library, the Rare Book Collection, and the Archives. The Reference Library contains books printed after 1900 as well as serials (scientific journals and other periodicals). The Rare Book Collection comprises books printed before 1901. The Archives include the Academy's institutional records as well as varied historical documentation, artifacts, and works of art relating to the natural and environmental sciences.
Who can use the ANS Library & Archives?
Anyone, regardless of ANS or Drexel affiliation, may consult materials from the Reference Library, the Archives, and the Rare Book Collection in the Academy’s Reading Room (located in Library & Archives, next to the Dietrich Gallery) by appointment.
How do I search online for materials in the Library & Archives collections?
Our library materials are findable through DragonSearch, the Drexel Libraries search engine. To limit your search to the ANS collections, perform your search and then select “Library” on the left-side menu, pick “Academy Library & Archives,” and finally “Apply Filter.”
The Reference Librarian (Paul Roberts, pwr29@drexel.edu) is available to assist with searching and retrieving library materials.
To find archival materials (historical records, manuscripts, art, and artifacts) search the ArchivesSpace database.
How can I browse new additions to the Reference Library?
We also have rotating new additions on display in the Reading Room. Feel free to stop by!
How do I check out materials from the Reference Library?
After identifying the items you want to check out, email ANS_library@drexel.edu with the catalog links for those items. A librarian will assist you with check out.
How long can I check out a book?
The standard loan term is three months with renewals available.
How do I return a book?
There is a returns cart near the Reading Room entrance. You can also return items directly to a librarian.
How do I make a research appointment to consult rare books or archival materials?
Research appointments to consult materials in the Reading Room are typically available Tuesday through Friday, 10am to 4pm. To make an appointment, send an email to ANS_library@drexel.edu. In-person research appointments must be confirmed in advance to ensure the availability of staff and materials.
How do I find digitized materials?
Selections from the Archives' Art Collection are accessible on the Academy's own website. Scientific illustrations, photographs, and correspondence are accessible through Pa Photos and Documents. Expedition and field work films are accessible on the Internet Archive. In addition, over 250 volumes including rare books, field notebooks, and diaries are accessible through the Biodiversity Heritage Library, of which ANS is a member.
