INFO 657 Student Project

It has never been more important to have the ability to locate, comprehend, evaluate, and organize information using digital technology than it is in today's world. By understating and knowing how to utilize this technology, individuals can communicate and work more effectively and more efficiently. Digital Literacy: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications presents a vital compendium of research detailing the latest case studies, architectures, frameworks, methodologies, and research on Digital Literacy. With contributions from authors around the world, this three-volume collection presents the most sophisticated research and developments from the field, relevant to researchers, academics, and practitioners alike. In order to stay abreast of the latest research, this book affords a vital look into Digital Literacy research.

Digital literacy is a powerful subject, which supports inclusivity, social mobility and digital citizenship globally. This book brings together thought-leaders and experts in the field, providing a blend of research and practice across sectors, and provides a valuable and timely insight into digital literacy and learning. Digital Literacy Unpacked not only offers a snapshot of innovative approaches to digital literacy, but also intends to provoke discussion, encourage collaboration and inspire â€" whatever the role or context. The editors open up the whole area of digital literacy in all its kaleidoscopic richness, and provide diverse perspectives, content and ideas to inform thinking and practice. The cross-sectoral and global significance of digital literacy is a key theme of the book. Digital literacy is relevant to higher education, further education, schools, children, and the workplace - but crucially at its heart it is a citizenship and inclusion issue, necessary for the full participation and achievement of all in society. Content covered includes: - a discussion of terminology, institutional approaches, and existing frameworks - digital literacy in learning and teaching - copyright literacy - teaching the use of digital tools and curriculum design - critical approaches to literacy - combatting social exclusion using digital skills. The book will be useful reading for library and information professionals across the sector (higher education, schools, business/corporate, special, public), institutional leaders and managers, and LIS students. It will also be useful reading for educational technologists, learning and teaching professionals.

It's not hyperbole to conclude that in today's world, information literacy is essential for survival and success; and also that, if left unchecked, the social consequences of widespread misinformation and information illiteracy will only continue to grow more dire. Thus its study must be at the core of every education. But while many books have been written on information literacy, this text is the first to examine information literacy from a cross-national, cross-cultural, and cross-institutional perspective. From this book, readers will learn about information literacy in a wide variety of contexts, including academic and school libraries, public libraries, special libraries, and archives, through research and literature that has previously been siloed in specialized publications; come to understand why information literacy is not just an issue of information and technology, but also a broader community and societal issue; get an historical overview of advertising, propaganda, disinformation, misinformation, and illiteracy; gain knowledge of both applied strategies for working with individuals and for addressing the issues in community contexts; find methods for combating urgent societal ills caused and exacerbated by misinformation; and get tools and techniques for advocacy, activism, and self-reflection throughout one's career.

Web 2.0 technologies have been seen by many information professionals as critical to the future development of library services. This has led to the use of the term Library 2.0 to denote the kind of service that is envisaged. There has been considerable debate about what Library 2.0 might encompass, but, in the context of information literacy, it can be described as the application of interactive, collaborative, and multimedia technologies to web-based library services and collections. These developments challenge librarians involved in information literacy with more complex and diverse web content, a range of exciting new tools with which to teach, and a steep learning curve to adjust to the constant change of the Web 2.0 world. This edited collection from an international team of experts provides a practically-based overview of emerging Library 2.0 tools and technologies for information literacy practitioners; addresses the impact of the adoption of these technologies on information literacy teaching; provides case study exemplars for practitioners to help inform their practice; and examines the implications of Library 2.0 for the training of information literacy professionals. Key topics include: aching; provides case study exemplars for practitioners to help inform their practice; and examines the implications of Library 2.0 for the training of information literacy professionals. Key topics include: School Library 2.0: new skills and knowledge for the future information literacy, Web 2.0 and public libraries the blog as an assessment tool using Wikipedia to eavesdrop on the scholarly conversation information literacy and RSS feeds library instruction on the go: podcasting sparking Flickrs of insight into controlled vocabularies and subject searching joining the YouTube conversation to teach information literacy going beyond Google teaching information literacy through digital games. Readership: This book will be essential reading for all library and information practitioners and policy makers with responsibility for developing and delivering information literacy programmes to their users. It will also be of great interest to students of library and information studies.

Want to learn something well? Make media to advance knowledge and gain new ideas. You don't have to be a communication professional to create to learn. Today, with free and low-cost digital tools, everyone can compose videos, blogs and websites, remixes, podcasts, screencasts, infographics, animation, remixes and more. By creating to learn, people internalize ideas and express information creatively in ways that may inspire others. Create to Learn is a ground-breaking book that helps learners create multimedia texts as they develop both critical thinking and communication skills. Written by Renee Hobbs, one of the foremost experts in media literacy, this book introduces a wide range of conceptual principles at the heart of multimedia composition and digital pedagogy. Its approach is useful for anyone who sees the profound educational value of creating multimedia projects in an increasingly digital and connected world. Students will become skilled multimedia communicators by learning how to gather information, generate ideas, and develop media projects using contemporary digital tools and platforms. Illustrative examples from a variety of student-produced multimedia projects along with helpful online materials offer support and boost confidence.   Create to Learn will help anyone make informed and strategic communication decisions as they create media for any academic, personal or professional project.