LibGuides: Health Data and Statistics: Health Statistics

National Health Statistics Resources

State Health Statistics Resources

Other Sources

Historical Statistics of the United States
Five-volume reference work covering aspects of population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations, each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field, with coverage from Colonial times to 2000. Content is fully searchable and downloadable and includes essays, more than 37,000 data series, and statistics from more than 1,000 sources, with the ability to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
PolicyMap
An online data platform and mapping tool that provides access to U.S. demographic data, as well as data related to health, housing, transit, and more. Create a map with included data or upload your own, generate reports, or download data for use in other applications. Data are sourced from both government and proprietary sources, including: the Census Bureau, the CDC, the DHS, the EPA, the FDIC, FEMA, HUD, NCES, and the Reinvestment Fund. For a complete list of included data, see the data dictionary. Visit the PolicyMap Knowledge Center for tutorials & support documentation.
Statista
Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Content includes more than 1,400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets) that are searchable and browsable. Includes the following editions: 2013 to present. For the 1878 to 2012 editions, visit the U.S. Census Bureau website.
Statistical Abstracts of the World
The Statistical Abstracts of the World aggregates the statistical abstracts of nearly 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data; global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are also included.
UNdata
Provides access to major United Nations statistical databases containing over 60 million data points and covering agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Content includes country profiles, databases, statistical tables, and glossaries; statistical coverage varies by measure, but may go back to 1950.