It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology and Sociology: Home
Library resources for students in Anthropology and Sociology
Useful Web Resources
Start with searching for articles in DragonSearch then try these more specialized resources.
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1983-present, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Please note, photos and some blog content for the Inquirer may not be available through this service
Previously available through Newsbank, now provided through Proquest Newspapers.
Full text access to The Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860 - 2001.
With a rich history of growth and advocacy that closely mirrors the nation’s Civil Rights progress, The Philadelphia Tribune is the nation’s oldest continuously published newspaper reflecting the African-American experience.
Contains legal, news, and business-related subjects. Newspapers & legal materials are featured, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
To run cross-tabulations without statistical programs, download datasets and documentation, or download up to 500 iPoll questions at once, you must create an account using your Drexel email address. Keywords: public opinion, poll
"ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
"The SDA Archive includes several datasets, including the General Social Survey (GSS) and the American National Election Study (ANES)." The SDA includes built-in data analysis tools and the ability to download sub collections of data.
Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Content includes more than 1,400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets) that are searchable and browsable.
Includes the following editions: 2013 to present. For the 1878 to 2012 editions, visit the U.S. Census Bureau website. Keywords: statistic, census
American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the officially received perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films.
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition. Search the blog to locate sample citation formatting for electronic sources not detailed in the Manual.