LibGuides: Mathematics: Home

Finding books

Try a keyword search in DragonSearch. Filter search results by 'Material Type-Book Chapters
Explore 'Advanced Keyword searching'. See also DragonSearch Tutorials to learn more about advanced search techniques.

Electronic Books

Search in various electronic book collections about topic related to materials science and engineering

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering prepares students to solve real-world problems, provides access to upper-level textbooks at no additional cost, enables faculty to integrate practical resources into their courses, and helps professionals find relevant information faster, driving increased ROI.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
**Browser Compatibility note: AccessScience is best viewed using Firefox, IE, or Safari. Google Chrome may yield an error**

Online science platform, featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, biographies of scientific figures, images, and videos.
Ebrary [ProQuest Ebook Central] This link opens in a new window
Ebrary is now part of ProQuest Ebook Central. Ebook Central offers over 100,000 ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
Knovel Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Engineering decision-support solution enabling students to solve problems faster. Its powerful search and interactive analytical tools help students find answers to technical questions through best practice insights, validated equations, and materials and property data from various providers.
Safari: O’Reilly’s Learning Platform for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online. There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books.
Skillport from Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new window
Skillport®is a web-based Learning Management System (LMS) that provides access to content covering IT & digital skills, business and finance, and leadership development applied to various disciplines. Content types include: articles, eBooks and audiobooks, book summaries, case studies, certification materials, electronic handbooks and how-to books, instructional videos, and live events. Keywords: accounting, business, certification, compliance, digital, engineering, entrepreneurship, finance, government, human resources, IT, information technology, leadership, management, technology, well-being, books24x7
Create a profile using your Drexel email address to set preferences, enable notifications, create a personal learning plan, and view bookmarks, book notes, and downloaded book chapters. Each user is entitled to 15 chapter downloads every 90 days.

Finding Articles

Using DragonSearch:

Try DragonSearch to find peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals.

Use relevant research keywords related to your topic.
For example, type 'Mathematical Reasoning' and click on Search.
Refine your search results by selecting options such as 'peer review' and 'Articles and more'.
Explore your results, find and access papers you need.

Electronic Databases

Use databases below to find scholarly journal articles about the topic of your research project.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Find journals published by Annual Reviews.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access to research papers in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Consists of electronic preprints (known as e-prints) approved for publication after moderation.
Keywords: preprint
Electronic Library of Mathematics This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive list of freely available Mathematics Journals
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a search interface for Compendex, Inspec, Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB), and Knovel databases. It provides access to articles from scientific journals and conference proceedings, access to electronic books through Knovel database, offers support for varying engineering research initiatives, and helps discover engineering-related jobs.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than four-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, biomedical engineering, computer science and electronics.
IET Journal Archive 1872-2012 This link opens in a new window
The IET Journals span all areas of engineering and technology – covering the disciplines of electrical, electronics, computing, control, biomedical and communications technologies.
IET Research Hub on Wiley This link opens in a new window
The IET Journals covering the disciplines of electrical, electronics, computing, control, biomedical and communications technologies are now fully gold Open Access, allowing researchers and practitioners around the world immediate and free access to current IET Journals content. As well as publishing current research Open Access, all articles published from 2013 are freely available on the IET Research hub.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Access to fulltext of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Find millions of global dissertations and theses, dating back to 1743. Items added since 1997 generally available in full text.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Proquest One Academic is a great place to start when researching a topic. The database offers full text access to thousands of academic journals, books, dissertations, newspapers, and videos from across all disciplines.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1500 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas.
Keywords: Science direct
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers more than 36,000 titles from over 11,000 publishers, nearly all of which are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. It covers three types of sources: book series, journals, and trade journals. All journals covered in the Scopus database, regardless of who they are published under, are reviewed each year to ensure high quality standards are maintained. Searches in Scopus also incorporate searches of patent databases. Scopus gives four types of quality measure for each title; those are h-Index, CiteScore, SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search
ZB Math Open This link opens in a new window
zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. It is edited by the European Mathematical Society (EMS), the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and FIZ Karlsruhe. The editorial work is done by the Berlin office of FIZ Karlsruhe, which as a member of the Leibniz Association is a non-profit company and a recognized organisation serving the public interest. Since January 2021, zbMATH Open has been available as an open access database.
Open Access

Technical Reports

What is a technical report? A technical report is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research, or the state of a technical or scientific research problem.

Tutorials

Web Sources

Open Access Mathematics books:

Math textbooks are designed to meet the standard scope and sequence requirements of their respective courses – and are 100% free online. Complete with free resources for educators (like LMS course shells, lecture slides, instructor answer keys, and more), all OpenStax textbooks are fully customizable.

Mathematics Classroom Resources

MIT OpenCourseware

Since 2001, MIT OpenCourseWare has been creating new opportunities for millions of learners and educators, sharing Open Educational Resources (OER) from MIT and helping to lead a global revolution in free access to knowledge

National Museum of Mathematics

This collection of lessons and web resources is aimed at classroom teachers, their students, and students' families.

MoMath, the National Museum of Mathematics, is an award-winning museum that highlights the role of mathematics in illuminating the patterns and structures all around us. Its dynamic exhibits, galleries, and programs are designed to stimulate inquiry, spark curiosity, and reveal the wonders of mathematics.