Skip to main content
Drexel Library

Executive MPH: Library Resources and Services

Guide to navigating Library resources and services for students in the Executive Masters in Public Health program.

Searching the Libraries' Collections

Electronic Resources:

Nearly all of the Libraries' journal, all databases, and a significant number of books are available electronically.  When you choose a link to a Drexel Libraries-subscribed resources, you'll see an authentication page to verify your Drexel affiliation: use your Drexel EMAIL ID (just the initials and number, not your full email address) and PASSWORD to log in to all library resources.

Alternatively, you can set up VPN (Virtual Private Network) access to reach all licensed resources.

NOTE: Due to changes in Drexel Account requirements, you may need to set up Multi-Factor Authentication to log in.

Finding Journal Articles

Whether you find citations to journal articles using one of the recommended databases, or have a list of citations from another source, how do you get to the actual TEXT of the article?

From a citation in a database:

Look for the button, or a DREXEL FULL TEXT link. This is our linking system that connects you from a citation in one database to the text of that article that might be in a different journal collection.

A new tab or new browser window will open (you may need to turn-off your pop-up blocker!). If the article is available to us online, you'll either go directly to the article itself, or to a "services" window that will allow you to choose between multiple options to access the article.

If the article is not available online, the "services" page will instruct your to sign in (use your usual Drexel ID and password), then will show options for requesting the article via Interlibrary Loan.


Citations from other sources:

When you have a citation that you didn't find in a database, you can find out whether the article is available in our journal collections.

  • Type or copy-and-paste a phrase from the article title into the DragonSearch box on the library home page. Use enough of the title to have a unique/significant phrase, and put it in quotation marks:  "microbiological evaluation of water fountains of public and private schools".
  • OR, see "Finding/Browsing Journals" below to search for the journal title, then navigate to the appropriate year/volume/issue to find the article.

 

Troubleshooting

Sometimes the linking function just doesn't work quite right; there might be a malfunction at the journal website, or there may be problems with the information in the citation. Try going directly to the journal website (see Finding/Browsing Journals below) and looking for the article directly.

Finding/Browsing Journals

BrowZineUse BrowZine on the web or download on your phone or tablet to stay current with your selected journals from Drexel Libraries collections.

To find a specific journal, use the DragonSearch Advanced Search, setting the Search Filters to Title, and the Material Type to Journals.

Interlibrary Loan Services

If we don't have an article you need, don't panic! -- we may not have direct access to everything, but we can get most articles for you through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

Startt at "Borrow from Other Libraries" link on Libraries homepage, then select "Connect to ILLiad:"

  • Log in with your DREXEL EMAIL ID and PASSWORD.
  • If this is the first time you're using it,ill out/edit the Personal Information in your Profile; make sure your address is correct!
  • Select New Request and specify the type of material you need (article, book chapter, etc.).
  • Fill in as many fields as you can -- those with a red star are required (absolutely include a DOI or PMID (PubMed ID number) if you have one.

OR "Request through InterLibrary Loan" from a "services" page, then:

  • Log in with your DREXEL EMAIL ID and PASSWORD.
  • You should see the Article Request form with all of the citation information filled in; check to make sure it is accurate (especially page numbers) and submit the request.

You'll receive an email message -- usually in 3-4 business days -- with a link to the article.

To check the status of your request:  Log in to ILLIAD 

Visiting the Libraries

W. W. Hagerty Library is at 3300 Market Street (diagonally across from Nesbitt). We have additional library locations in Center City, and in the East Falls section of the city.

Please note that our Library Locations are operating with reduced hours and services due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please see our COVID-19 Response page for details about visiting the libraries.

To borrow books or DVDs from our collections, use the Request function in DragonSearch; you can specify that you will pick materials up at a library location (no-contact pick-up), or that they be mailed to you.  See COVID-19 Borrowing Procedures for more information.