"12 Amazing Asian Americans You Didn’t Learn About School" [Reader's Digest]
When you think back to history class, you probably remember learning about things like the 13 original American colonies, the Civil War, and the Industrial Revolution. But what about Asian Americans? Though more than 20 million Americans trace their ancestry back to various parts of Asia, the stories of Asian Americans are largely left out of the history lessons we learn in American schools. To mark Asian and Pacific Islander American Heritage Month, here are the stories of 12 amazing Asian Americans that you may not have heard of, but have each made incredible contributions to the lives we all live today. Discover 18 history lessons your teacher probably lied to you about.
APIA (Asian Pacific Islander American) Biography Project
The Asian Pacific Islander American (APIA) Biography Project began in AY 2012-13 under Lorraine Dong and Jeannie Woo, professors of Asian American Studies at San Francisco State University. It was inspired by a 2010 publication entitled Crossing Boundaries: Asian and Pacific Islander Americans, written by Irene Dea Collier and Lora Meilin Collier, illustrated by Janine Macbeth and published by The Association of Chinese Teachers (TACT).
Asian Pacific Americans in Higher Education (APAHE)
Asian Pacific Americans in Higher Education (APAHE) was founded in 1987, during the height of a five-year fight against a series of discriminatory admission policy directed against Asian Pacific American applicants at the University of California, Berkeley, and several research universities across the nation. At a conference on the admission fight convened in Oakland, California, participants uniformly felt the need for an organization that would address issues affecting Asian Pacific American students, staff, faculty, and administrators. Out of that conference emerged APAHE, which became a national organization on June 23, 2000.
The Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association (APAMSA) is a national organization of medical and pre-medical students committed to addressing the unique health challenges of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, & Pacific Islander (AANHPI) communities. The purpose of APAMSA is to explore and resolve the unique challenges, obstacles, and responsibilities specific to Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) pre-health/health students and health professionals and address health needs specific to Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities through leadership, education, research, and service.
Celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month with The Berkeley Public Library
Join the Berkeley Public Library for a range of programs for the whole family throughout May! Featured content also includes reading lists for both adults and children, as well as curated collections like "Japanese American Experience" and "Archives Unbound".
The Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Experience [PBS]
Every May we take extra time to celebrate Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) Heritage Month by shining a light on AAPI experiences and filmmakers.
Explore our collection featuring a selection of films documenting the Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) Experience — along with articles, digital shorts and original features exploring America’s continued struggle with democracy, inclusion and justice for AANHPI Americans, and celebrating their contributions to the American story.
We also recognize the need to face ugly truths about events of racism, xenophobia, and violence targeted towards AAPI communities. When we are honest about the past, we can begin to heal from the wounds of hate and in doing so, make a better future together.
The Chinese Center at San Francisco Public Library
The Chinese Center, part of the International Center, contains books in English and in Chinese about China, Chinese culture and the Chinese in United States. Collections and services available include staff and information services available at the International Center; languages spoken: Cantonese and Mandarin; monthly classes in Cantonese and Mandarin demonstrating online resources; schedule group visits and tours by calling 557-4430; and ongoing book exchange with sister cities Shanghai and Taipei. Also check out the helpful resource Chinatown Branch Library.
“Dr. Chang Chen has documented stories of Chinese American women” [Wind Newspaper]
Dr. Chang C. Chen earned a Ph. D in biochemistry and a law degree. She is also a writer who has authored over 50 books. In recent years, she is dedicated to documenting the stories of the Chinese American women who had fought for their equal rights through legal proceedings that led to rewriting American history. Pictured: Dr. Chang C. Chen launches an exhibit on Chinese American women in San Francisco Main Library. Photo by Portia Li.
In 1973, performers Nobuko Miyamoto, Chris Iijima, and Charlie Chin released the album A Grain of Sand: Music for the Struggle by Asians in America. Regarded by many as the first album of Asian American music, their album has roots in American folk music revival, blues, soul, and jazz.
This Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, learn about nine women who shaped American culture. Their achievements are represented across the Smithsonian's collections.
Pictured: album cover for Nobuko Miyamoto’s 120,000 Stories, 2021. Produced by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
"How One Woman's Story Led to the Creation of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month" [TIME]
The national Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month holiday was first proposed in 1976 by former Congressional staffer Jeanie Jew. Jew’s great-grandfather had immigrated from China in the 1800s, worked building the transcontinental railroad at a time of intense anti-Asian hate, and then lost his life to violence. She believed that the historical contributions of Asian Americans deserved recognition, within their own communities and beyond. In 1992, the week-long observance became a full month.
Jim Lee Re-Ups at DC, Promoted to President [Hollywood Reporter]
Jim Lee is a Seoul-born, St. Louis raised comics maven who has served as comic-book artist, writer, editor, publisher -- and now forthcoming president of DC Comics. The superstar artist-turned-publisher of DC has been promoted to president as well as publisher and CCO of the comic book company, which is part of Warner Bros. Discovery.
Lee, per the company, will continue in his primary role as publisher at DC, where he leads the creative teams. He will also continue to lead the creative efforts to integrate DC’s publishing portfolio of characters and stories across all media, supporting the brands and studios of WBD.
The Los Angeles Public Library Celebrates Asian Pacific American Heritage Month
Check out exhibits, videos, podcasts, photograph collections and more to celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month with the Los Angeles Public Library! Discover new titles in fiction, nonfiction and graphic novels and explore recommendations for Adult, Young Adult and Children's readers.
The Very Asian Foundation and We Need Diverse Books launch The May Book Project
In celebration of Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Heritage Month, The Very Asian Foundation, in partnership with We Need Diverse Books, launches The May Book Project to help schools and libraries build and maintain robust Asian American youth literature collections.
We are raising national awareness of the need to create inclusive libraries, give readers access to up-to-date Asian American literature, and provide funding for donating books to libraries.
Ming Qing Women's Writings [Harvard-Yenching Library]
The Ming Qing Women's Writings digital archive and database project is dedicated to the digitization of collections of writings by women in late imperial China (1368-1911). The website was launched in 2005. The on-going project employs new digital technology to preserve and make accessible on the internet this valuable cultural legacy for future generations of scholars, researchers, and other interested publics, thus building intellectual and technological infrastructure and creating possibilities to generate new methodologies in the fields of digital humanities and China studies. The website consists of a virtual library augmented by the online scholarly apparatus designed and implemented by the McGill Library Digital Initiatives team. In addition, it features a link for each writer to the China Biographical Database hosted at Harvard University.
Pushing Boundaries: Celebrating Asian and Pasifika Experiences Through Music [KEXP]
Pushing Boundaries is KEXP’s celebration of Asian and Pasifika stories through music, taking place on-air and online throughout the month of May. Follow along as we explore the work of artists from Asia, the Pacific, and the diaspora. From stories that contemplate the differences between appreciation and appropriation in music, to highlights of the work and resilience of our local community.
We kick off our celebration on May 1st, when our DJs will be joined by co-hosts for a full day of conversation, celebration, and of course music! Full lineup coming soon. Tune in on Monday May 1st from 5AM to 7PM pacific, or listen on-demand after the broadcast at KEXP.ORG and the KEXP Apps.
[Artwork by Toka Value, learn more about the piece titled “Tūtūpakanava” here.]
