LibGuides: Computer Science: Home

Technical Manuals and Handbooks

Safari: O’Reilly’s Learning Platform for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online. There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books.
Skillport from Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new window
Skillport®is a web-based Learning Management System (LMS) that provides access to content covering IT & digital skills, business and finance, and leadership development applied to various disciplines. Content types include: articles, eBooks and audiobooks, book summaries, case studies, certification materials, electronic handbooks and how-to books, instructional videos, and live events. Keywords: accounting, business, certification, compliance, digital, engineering, entrepreneurship, finance, government, human resources, IT, information technology, leadership, management, technology, well-being, books24x7
Create a profile using your Drexel email address to set preferences, enable notifications, create a personal learning plan, and view bookmarks, book notes, and downloaded book chapters. Each user is entitled to 15 chapter downloads every 90 days.

For those times when you need the comprehensive background of a technical manual to go beyond what a quick Google search will find, see the following links to ebooks in our SkillSoft (aka SkillPort) collection that correspond to coding languages taught in each of the undergraduate courses listed:

Sample E-Books for CCI Coding Courses
Course#	SkillSoft Link	OReilly Safari Link
171	C++	C++ or "C++ AND python"
172	Python	Python AND begin*
190	(could be any language)	(any language)
260	Math theory. Data structures. Programming basic algorithms	Data structures, basic algorithms
265	Advanced programming, programming tools, shell linux, scripting	Advanced programming, shell linux, scripting
270	Computational discrete math, sets, proofs and logic	computational discrete math, sets, proofs, logic
275	Web services, API's, web technologies, stack, bootstrap, angular, node js	Web services, API's, stack, bootstrap, angular, node js
281	Software architecture, VHDL	Software architecture, VHDL
283	systems software, gnu debugger, C language	systems software, gnu debugger, C language
350	Object oriented software design, and Java	Object oriented software design, and Java
360	Programming language theory, how they are parsed, how compilers work, flex and bison (lex and yacc) parsing	Programming language theory, parsing, compilers, flex and bison (lex and yacc)

Finding Books

Morgan & Claypool Synthesis "Lectures" in Computer & Information Science (link below)
Timely, short introductory-level summaries of under a hundred pages written by thought leaders in the field at the undergraduate level on specialized topics within computer and information science. The DRM-free downloads are suitable for use as textbooks for undergrad and graduate level courses.

SpringerLINK Computer Science eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reports on the latest results from all areas of computer science and information technology research, development, and education. Includes Lecture Notes In Computer Science

Finding Articles

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access full text articles on computer science, software and computer engineering published in the Association for Computing Machinery periodicals, transactions, and proceedings since 1985. Keywords: digital media, game design
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a search interface for Compendex, Inspec, Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB), and Knovel databases. It provides access to articles from scientific journals and conference proceedings, access to electronic books through Knovel database, offers support for varying engineering research initiatives, and helps discover engineering-related jobs.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than four-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, biomedical engineering, computer science and electronics.
IGI Global Gateway This link opens in a new window
Focuses on specialized topics in information science and technology and the related organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications. Includes full text collection of peer reviewed journals and eBooks, as well as streaming video lectures.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
The Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series, which includes the subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), covers developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Content types include abstracts, previews, and full text of eBooks and conference proceedings.

Need a quick overview of computing topics? See the 2012 ACM Computing Classification System. Available in either interactive or flat presentations. For background on their system see their introduction.

Getting Oriented - Finding Definitions

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
See the section for "Computing & Information Technology" as a starting place to browse for authoritative definitions.

IGI Global - Special Topic Encyclopedias -- Hundreds of entries in forty specialty titles such as "Business Analytics" and "Mobile Phone Behavior." See IGI's full list of books and scroll down to the titles beginning with the word "Encyclopedia" or try this keyword search in our main library book catalog IGI and encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of Algorithms
Provides a comprehensive set of solutions to important algorithmic problems with 400 peer-reviewed entries organized alphabetically by problem, with subject indexes and a chronology for locating recent solutions. Open problems, links to downloadable code, experimental results, data sets, and illustrations are included. Edited by Ming Yang Kao, Editor-in-Chief of the top journal in the field, Algorithmica.