Medical Students Year 2 Required and Recommended Reading

4th edition.
Mastering essential microbiology concepts is easier with this vividly illustrated review resource. Uses clear, concise writing and hundreds of dynamic illustrations to take students inside various microorganisms and ensure success on board exams. Straightforward lecture-style outlines streamline the review process, accompanied by hundreds of colorful illustrations that make complex concepts more accessible and bring microorganisms to life in vibrant detail.

8th edition.
Presents the fundamentals of microbiology and immunology in a clearly written, engaging manner-effectively preparing for courses, exams, and beyond. Coverage of basic principles, immunology, laboratory diagnosis, bacteriology, virology, mycology, and parasitology help you master the essentials.

A popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style.

6th edition.
A thorough understanding of microbial agents and the pathophysiology of microbial diseases. This trusted text is universally praised and reflects the latest advances in the field, including significant enhancements to the coverage of serious threats to global health such as COVID-19, respiratory and childhood viruses, and sexually transmitted diseases. New illustrations and additional learning features further clarify concepts, reinforce understanding, and help users confidently prepare for board exams and beyond.

2nd edition.
Offers up-to-date, clinically relevant board-style questions-perfect for course review and board prep. Approximately 1,000 multiple-choice questions with detailed answer explanations cover frequently tested topics in general and systemic pathology. The book is heavily illustrated with photos in the question or answer explanation.

4th edition.
Offers more than 1,800 outstanding illustrations that vividly depict the most common diseases covered in pathology courses and USMLE exams. Covering all major topic areas in organ system pathology and incorporating the latest understanding of pathophysiology and molecular medicine, it is a quick visual reference or review for students and professionals alike.

10th Edition.
Presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. Delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more.

5th Edition
Covers all major topics in general pathology and organ system pathology, effectively preparing students for coursework and examinations.

11th Edition
A rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts from trusted names in the field. Covers key pathologic processes and the time-honored tools of gross and microscopic analysis, while also retaining a strong emphasis on clinicopathologic correlations and the impact of molecular pathology on the practice of medicine.

7th edition.
Sets the foundation for medical training and practice with expert coverage of disease processes and their effects on cells, organs, and individuals.

8th edition.
Published in collaboration with the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, this highly respected resource provides the foundational knowledge medical students need to complete an Ob/Gyn rotation, pass national standardized exams, and competently care for women in clinical practice.

10th Edition.
Focus on high-yield core knowledge of key importance to anyone entering or established in the field of internal medicine. Each section describes key physiology and biochemistry, followed by comprehensive accounts of the diseases of the organ system or field covered in the chapters.

7th edition.
Grasp the electrocardiography basics and identify arrhythmias accurately.

The essential case companion to First Aid for the® USMLE Step 1 400 high-yield cases First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1 features 400 well-illustrated cases to help you relate basic science concepts to clinical situations.

3rd edition.
A comprehensive Q&A review for the USMLE Step directly linked to high-yield facts from Dr. Le's First Aid for the USMLE Step 1, this essential study guide offers 1000 board-style questions and answers, easy-to-navigate, high yield explanations for correct and incorrect answers, and more than 350 accompanying images.

6th edition.
Specifically designed to prepare medical students for their initial encounters with patients with heart disease, this award-winning text bridges basic cardiac physiology with clinical care.

4th edition.
This text offers medical students a case-based approach to learning the mechanisms of renal disease. Each chapter covers a disease, beginning with a patient case and followed by a discussion of the pathophysiology of the disease.

15th edition,
Master key pharmacological concepts and practices. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice.

13th edition.
Organized to reflect the syllabi in pharmacology courses, Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and retrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Each chapter begins with 20 pages of informative text, followed by questions and answers, and includes concise discussions of the concepts underlying basic principles or specific drug groups.

4th edition.
Each card covers a specific disease or drug, with high-yield facts in bold. Every card also includes a clinical vignette on the flip side which helps students answer the question "when is this medication the answer in real-world clinical practice?"

8th Edition.
Presents up-to-date drug information in an accessible format ideal for effective review. Part of the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews series, this concise resource features clear writing and hundreds of illustrations that break down complex pharmacological information, so it is understandable and accessible.

4th edition.
Offers an integrated mechanism-based and systems-based approach to contemporary pharmacology and drug development. An easy-to-follow format helps first- and second-year students grasp challenging concepts quickly and efficiently. Each chapter presents a clinical vignette illustrating a therapeutic problem within a physiologic or biochemical system; followed by a discussion of the biochemistry, physiology, and pathophysiology of the system; and concluding with a presentation of the pharmacology of the drugs and drug classes that activate or inhibit the system by interacting with specific molecular and cellular targets.

12th edition.
A leading clinical psychiatric resource for clinicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals both in the US and worldwide. Includes numerous case studies to enhance the learning experience.  Presents the most current treatment methods including descriptions of all modern psychotherapeutic techniques.  Includes descriptive tables for all relevant DSM-5 and ICD-10 diagnoses and an up-to-date psychopharmacology section organized according to mechanisms of action. 

13th edition.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking provides authoritative, step-by-step guidance on performing the patient interview and physical examination, applying clinical reasoning, shared decision-making, and other core assessment skills--all based on a firm understanding of clinical evidence.