Bioinformatics is an emerging field of science that is concerned with the management, analysis and visualization of the flood of data being generated in molecular and cellular biology, genomics and other areas of biology and biomedicine. See: What is a Genome, A Brief Guide to Genomics, What is a gene?, What is DNA?, Genetic Code and Gene Symbol.
Gene Names and Symbols: Genetics Home Reference uses standardized gene terminology from the National Center for Biotechnology Information’s NCBI Gene database. This terminology typically includes the official gene name and gene symbol as designated by the HUGO Gene Nomenclature Committee (HGNC). Genetics Home Reference italicizes symbols for human genes in accordance with the HGNC Guidelines for Gene Nomenclature.
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly gene summaries:
You can explore the normal functions of human genes and the health implications of genetic changes. It uses standardized gene terminology from the National Center for Biotechnology Information’s NCBI Gene database. Explore the normal functions of human genes and the health implications of genetic changes at Genes. See also DNA Sequencing.
Use AccessScience to find information on various subject areas related to Bioinformatics.
Books Click on the links below to see what books are available in the library in some key areas related to Bioinformatics:
Try Summon to find peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals.
Web based sources
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is one of the world's premier Web sites for biomedical and bioinformatics research. Based within the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, USA, the NCBI hosts many databases used by biomedical and research professionals. The services include PubMed, the bibliographic database; GenBank, the nucleotide sequence database; and the BLAST algorithm for sequence comparison, among many others.
Although each NCBI resource has online help documentation associated with it, there is no cohesive approach to describing the databases and search engines, nor any significant information on how the databases work or how they can be leveraged, for bioinformatics research on a larger scale. The NCBI Handbook is designed to address this information gap.