It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Science Careers: Home
Library associations offer essential professional development and networking opportunities, and usually provide job listings.
Information Professionals' Career Confidential by Ulla de StrickerBased in part on a selection of the author's past blog postings, Information Professionals' Career Confidential is a convenient, browsable, and illuminating pocket compendium of insights on topics relevant for information and knowledge professionals at any stage of their careers. This book collects comments on matters of interest to new and experienced information professionals alike in 1-2 minute "quick takes," inviting further thought. Topics range from the value of knowledge management and effective communication in organizations to assessing employers' perception of information professionals and how best to increase one's value through professional organizations and volunteering. This unique resource will be illuminating for anyone in library and information science, career development, or knowledge and information management. Raises questions - in a lively and concise manner - relevant for information professionals Offers readers the opportunity to read entries one at a time for reflection, or to read the entire book and then go back to certain entries to consolidate the meaning Presents ideas and concepts from thoughtful perspectives in a style designed to make professionals and students reflect on their own careers
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Managing Your Brand by Julie StillManaging Your Brand: Career Management and Personal PR for Librarians sets out guidelines for developing career pathways, including options for career change and the exploration of community service, as an avenue that can provide new opportunities. The text allows librarians at all levels to maximize their talents, providing them with career planning strategies that will facilitate professional development and personal satisfaction. Early chapters provide advice and strategies to readers, with later chapters addressing working relationships, librarianship, scholarship, and other forms of service.
Publication Date: 2015-06-04
The Information and Knowledge Professional's Career Handbook by Ulla de Stricker; Jill Hurst-WahlThe definitive guide to developing and managing a successful career in the information profession: Information Professionals and Knowledge Managers deal with significant challenges in building successful careers for a number of reasons associated with common misperceptions of their expertise and roles. In environments where they must often justify their work and value over and over again, those already in the profession need a boost and those just entering need to be prepared for a reality that may differ quite a bit from their expectations. The book is intended to give readers a set of tools and techniques with which to secure a strong career, build an effective brand, and succeed as professionals. Click Here to view the official page for this title on Facebook.
Publication Date: 2011-01-27
Recovery, Reframing, and Renewal by Oliver CutshawThis book examines the difficulties confronting information professionals who, due to financial downturns, technological change, or personal crises, are forced to re-evaluate their career options. It is divided between a case study (based on the author's own experiences) of career dislocation and eventual career renewal, and several sections that offer pragmatic advice on how to recover from job loss, conduct a skills assessment and develop a practical job search strategy. The author, with honesty, confronts the serious and sometimes troubling psychological and professional consequences of layoffs and job burnout. This book presents an overall positive outlook on personal growth and the opportunities our new information environment holds.
Publication Date: 2011-03-04
Building Your Library Career with Web 2. 0 by Julia GrossMany professionals in the Library and Information Services (LIS) area are using Web 2.0 to deliver content and reaching out to connect with library users. This book applies these technologies to help shape your own career development plan. Increased online connectivity has opened up new opportunities for professionals to network, learn and grow in their careers; in an online world, where many of us have a digital footprint already, new rules apply. This readable guide builds on the solid foundation of previous library career books. The social networking tools described will supplement the traditional methods of career development. Chapters provide advice and practical examples, showing how to use Web 2.0 technologies in our careers including: ways to enhance your skills; building professional networks; developing a positive online presence. Provides fresh ideas on building networks to survive and thrive in the digital career space Covers the risks and opportunities of having an online presence Provides a Web 2.0 toolkit for independent learning
Publication Date: 2011-11-09
To access this website, go to DrexelOne. Then click on the Coop and Career Services Tab. Once on that page you will see a link to Going Global in the box for Career Services.
Going Global provides country-specific and American city-specific career and employment information, Country and City Career Guides, H1B Visa information, employer information, internship and job listings within the United States and around the world. Also included are other resources that will help you in a co-op or job search.
Job Listings & More
Many of these site can be loaded into an rss feed reader such as Feedly, so you can keep up with new job listings as they appear.
I Need a Library Job, or INALJ, features job listings of their by state, internationally and remotely. Their listings usually include traditional and non-traditional library positions. They also feature tons of advice on search strategies and getting started in librarianship.
Information on Companies
Use the links below to our company directories or Mergent Intellect to generate a list of potential employers. Specify your location criteria and your industry criteria. Try one of the suggested industry codes below to specify your industry of choice. You can also search for additional SIC and NAICS codes using the links below.
Mergent IntellectData and information about active and inactive public and private U.S. and international companies, company and industry news, and more. In addition to profiles containing descriptive and financial details about active and inactive companies, Mergent Intellect features consumer data, Nielsen demographic and U.S. Census data, industry reports (U.S., Canada, global), and key business ratios.
Includes D&B Million Dollar Database, Hoover's Online, and Mergent Key Business Ratios on the Web Keywords: company, demographic, finance, industry, job
Suggested Industry Codes
School and Academic Libraries
6111- Elementary and Secondary Schools
6112- Junior Colleges
6113- Colleges, Universities and Professional Schools
61111- Elementary and Secondary Schools
6112- Junior Colleges
6113- Colleges, Universities and Professional Schools
7361- Employment Agencies
9441- Administration of Social & Manpower Programs
561312- Executive Search Services
92313- Administration of Human Resources Programs
6311-6411- Covers all types of insurance, agents, & brokers
5111- Newspaper, Periodical, Book and Directory Publishers
General and Corporate Libraries and Archives
8111- Legal Services
9222- Legal Counsel & Prosecution
51912- Libraries and Archives
54191- Market Research and Public Opinion Polling
54151- Computer Systems Design and Related Services
(Presented at ALA Midwinter 2014)-- This presentation touches on aspects of the job search you normally don't think about, such as what the search committee is looking for and how to approach the different steps in the recruitment process.