It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Careers: Home
New Engineering Careers Guide
Note: After June 1st, 2019 this guide is no longer being updated for Chemical Engineering Careers. Please use the Engineering Careers Guide linked to below.
AIChE is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals. Their Student portal has many useful resources, including Career Development information and student internships. They also offer scholarships.
AWIS works to improve the recruitment, retention, and recognition of women in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Check out their job board, read advice from their Career Library, or join AWIS for additional networking and mentoring opportunities.
Qmed is a medical device industry supplier directory.
Books - Chemistry Careers
Career Management for Chemists by John FetzerJohn Fetzer's "Career Management for Chemists" provides ample, common-sense guidance on the key topics such as: Resumés and CVs, Staying Driven & Current, Personal Skills & Traits Networking, Teamwork & Leadership, Speaking & Listening Writing Research Papers, Mentoring, Behavior & Rewards The practical coverage reflects not only his long professional experience but also his insight that, especially in today's changing workplace, expectations and strategies for career management require constant re-evaluation. Provides real, common-sense, and proven means to enrich and make more rewarding a technical career. Pre-publication comments from colleagues - "Not only the student who is taking his first steps in the scientific world would profit abundantly by mining this book for views and ideas on the different sides of his chosen career. Also the seasoned scientist will be stimulated to scrutinize his own habits and pick up new thoughts, thereby becoming a more skilled instructor of his younger colleagues." J. Andersson, University of Münster, Germany "As one of the international collaborators of Dr. John Fetzer, I want to warmly congratulate him. His efforts nicely summarize very important topics for all who work in scientific activities. But, at the same time, Career Management for Chemists also provides some real insights for many people who are not working in science. This is a nice guidebook on how to enrich our lives and help us to become more successful!! K. Jinno, Toyohashi University of Technology
Call Number: QD39.5 .F48 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-21
Nontraditional Careers for Chemists by Lisa M. BalbesA Chemistry background prepares you for much more than just a laboratory career. The broad science education, analytical thinking, research methods, and other skills learned are of value to a wide variety of types of employers, and essential for a plethora of types of positions. Those who are interested in chemistry tend to have some similar personality traits and characteristics. By understanding your own personal values and interests, you can make informed decisions about what career paths to explore, and identify positions that match your needs. By expanding your options for not only what you will do, but also the environment in which you will do it, you can vastly increase the available employment opportunities, and increase the likelihood of finding enjoyable and lucrative employment. Each chapter in this book provides background information on a nontraditional field, including typical tasks, education or training requirements, and personal characteristics that make for a successful career in that field. Each chapter also contains detailed profiles of several chemists working in that field. The reader gets a true sense of what these people do on a daily basis, what in their background prepared them to move into this field, and what skills, personality, and knowledge are required to make a success of a career in this new field. Advice for people interested in moving into the field, and predictions for the future of that career, are also included from each person profiled. Career fields profiled include communication, chemical information, patents, sales and marketing, business development, regulatory affairs, public policy, safety, human resources, computers, and several others. Taken together, the career descriptions and real case histories provide a complete picture of each nontraditional career path, as well as valuable advice about how career transitions can be planned and successfully achieved by any chemist.
BioSpace is the premier online community for the life science industry. It features a comprehensive Career Network for industry professionals and employers, and delivers daily news, events, company profiles, stocks, and blogs.
Information on Companies
Use the links below to our company directories or Mergent Intellect to generate a list of potential employers. Specify your location criteria and your industry criteria. Try one of the suggested industry codes below to specify your industry of choice. You can also search for additional SIC and NAICS codes using the links below.
Mergent IntellectData and information about active and inactive public and private U.S. and international companies, company and industry news, and more. In addition to profiles containing descriptive and financial details about active and inactive companies, Mergent Intellect features consumer data, Nielsen demographic and U.S. Census data, industry reports (U.S., Canada, global), and key business ratios.
Includes D&B Million Dollar Database, Hoover's Online, and Mergent Key Business Ratios on the Web Keywords: company, demographic, finance, industry, job
Suggested Industry Codes
2800- Chemicals and Allied Products
2812- Alkalies and Chlorine
2821- Plastics, Materials, and Nonvulcanizable Elastomers
2822- Synthetic Rubber (Vulcanizable Elastomers)
2841- Soaps & Detergents
2843- Surface Active & Finishing Agents, Sulfonated Oils
2844- Perfumes, Cosmetics, & Toilet Preparations
2851- Paints, Varnishes, Lacquers, Enamels
2861- Gum & Wood Chemicals
2891- Adhesives & Sealants
325- Chemical Manufacturing
3251- Basic Chemical Manufacturing
3252- Resin, Synthetic Rubber, and Artificial Synthetic Fibers and Filaments Manufacturing
3253- Pesticide, Fertilizer, and other Agricultural Chemical Manufacturing
3254- Pharmaceutical and Medicine Manufacturing
3255- Paint, Coating, and Adhesive Manufacturing
3256- Soap, Cleaning Compound, and Toilet Preparation Manufacturing
3259- Other Chemical Product and Preparation Manufacturing
The Society For Biomaterials is a professional society which promotes advances in all phases of materials research and development by encouragement of cooperative educational programs, clinical applications, and professional standards in the biomaterials field.
Steinbright Career Development Center
For more job search resources, follow the links below to SCDC's career guides, and to Handshake, the job search portal with positions posted by employers interested in Drexel students.
To access this website, go to DrexelOne. Then click on the Coop and Career Services Tab. Once on that page you will see a link to Going Global in the box for Career Services.
Going Global provides country-specific and American city-specific career and employment information, Country and City Career Guides, H1B Visa information, employer information, internship and job listings within the United States and around the world. Also included are other resources that will help you in a co-op or job search.
Books - Pharmaceuticals and Biotechnology
Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development by Toby FreedmanAn essential guide for students in the life sciences, established researchers, and career counselors, this resource features discussions of job security, future trends, and potential career paths. Even those already working in the industry will find helpful information on how to take advantage of opportunities within their own companies and elsewhere.
Call Number: TP248.2 .F737 2008
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Opportunities in Pharmacy Careers by Fred B. GableOPPORTUNITIES IN . . . SERIES PROVIDES VALUABLE CAREER INSIGHT TO STUDENTS AND JOB SEEKERS! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest; Training and education requirements for each career; Salary statistics for different positions within each field; Up-to-date professional and Internet resources; And much more
Call Number: RS122.5 .G3 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-09
The WetFeet Insider Guide to the Top 20 Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Firms by WetFeetThe biotech and pharmaceutical industry has a potent and promising future. Demand for drugs is growing, fueled by an aging global population and blossoming international markets. And so is the job market for skilled professionals in these industries.Look to The WetFeet Insider Guide to the Top 20 Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Firms to learn about the latest developments at top companies, from Abbott and Amgen to Genentech and Wyeth; recent milestones-ranging from mergers and acquisitions to lawsuits, discoveries, and patents; which companies have a global presence; what it's like to work for these companies; how to make contact and with whom, as well as what's involved in the hiring process; how to prepare for the interviews . . . and more!
Publication Date: 2004
Vault Career Guide to Biotech by Carole MoussalliWith new "wonder" drugs under development for almost every conceivable health issue, the 21st century promises to be an exciting and important time for the biotech industry. Learn more about career paths on both the science (R & D) and business (sales, marketing, project management) sides of biotech. Book jacket.
Call Number: TP248.22 .M68 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-26
Job$ in the Drug Indu$try by Richard J. FriaryThis book is intended to help newly graduated chemists, particularly organic chemists, at all levels from bachelors to post-doctorates, find careers in the North American pharmaceutical industry. It will serve as a practical, detailed guiedbook for job seekers as well a reference work for faculty advisers, research supervisors, development officers, employment agents, and personnel managers in the industry. The book gathers in a single volume the fundamentals of getting an industrial job as a medicinal or process chemist, and covers all aspects of a chemist's job--scientific, financial, and managerial--within a pharmaceutical/biotechnology company. Other scientists looking for jobs as analytical or physical chemists and even biochemists and biologists will find the book useful. The valuable appendix is a unique compendium of 365 commercial, governmental, or non-profit institutions that comprise the North American pharmaceutical industry.
Call Number: QD39.5 .F75 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-05
Career Opportunities in Clinical Drug Research by Rebecca J. AndersonThis book is an easy-to-follow handbook that introduces readers to entry-level clinical job opportunities and explains how to qualify for them, with a particular emphasis on how to gain clinical experience that a hiring manager will accept. Each chapter covers one of the clinical specialties involved in conducting pharmaceutical clinical trials: for example, clinical research associate, clinical data manager, biostatistician, and clinical drug safety specialist. The chapters are written as personalized narratives, allowing the reader to follow the daily work of a clinical specialist as he or she supports a clinical study and interacts with the other study team members. The descriptions of these specialists are composite profiles that incorporate the true-to-life experiences of typical clinical study team members. A list of career options available to workers after mastering their entry-level clinical position, as well as a tool box for those seeking a position, are included. Career Opportunities in Clinical Drug Research also gives readers a brief overview of research and development in the pharmaceutical industry and explains how a typical clinical study is conducted.