Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding health information on the Web
Comprehensive Health Websites
MedlinePlus is a consumer health service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Providing patients with authoritative and up to date information to help answer health questions, MedlinePlus includes links to hundreds of topics on medical conditions, diseases, wellness, drugs, herbs, and supplements. In addition to a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, current health news, and extensive directories to find healthcare practitioners and hospitals, MedlinePlus provides a collection of interactive healthcare related tutorials. Much of the information in MedlinePlus is also available in Spanish.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC is a federal agency in the Department of Health and Human Services. Their website provides individuals with authoritative information on diseases and conditions, environmental and workplace health, emergency preparedness and response, and healthy living. The CDC also provides access to extensive health-related statistics.
Operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), information on this website is written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the AAFP. Health information for men, women, seniors, teens, and children is available in English and Spanish. Find information on drugs, including over-the-counter drugs, and chose from a collection of videos on various health topics.
From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this website offers an encyclopedia of over 1600 health topics from reliable resources, numerous personal health tools such as health quizzes to assess disease risk, links to health services and organizations, as well as current health news headlines. This nicely organized website is available in English and Spanish.
National Cancer Institute
With content available in English and Spanish, this U.S. government website has information for consumers and health professionals. Covering various cancer topics, content includes an A-Z list of cancers, clinical trial information, cancer statistics, recent news releases, a dictionary of cancer terms, and a cancer drug dictionary.
Philadelphia and Other Pennsylvania Health Resources
City of Philadelphia Health Department
Find a Philadelphia Health Care Center where all Philadelphia residents can access medical and dental care. This website also describes a wide variety of other health-related resources and information for Philadelphia residents.
AIDS Library of Philadelphia
The AIDS Library offers comprehensive HIV/AIDS information through a variety of media including books, journals, videos, and the Internet. Professional librarians are available in the library to help patrons search for information about HIV in a comfortable and private setting. Free Internet access and computer instruction is available.
Pennsylvania Health Law Project
The PHLP provides free legal services, information, and advocacy to Pennsylvania residents having trouble accessing publicly funded health care coverage or services.
Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts: Pennsylvania
Find extensive health related statistics for Pennsylvania and see how Pennsylvania compares to the rest of the country.