Interlibrary Loan has expanded the collections of libraries of all sizes since its inception. How has the digitization of academic publishing and the growth of open access changed the process? How do libraries deal with licensing issues when sharing resources?
This guide brings together Library Science scholarship on sharing resources in the twenty-first century and the particular challenges of our growing interconnected digital world.
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery in the Larger Academic Library by
The perfect introduction to interlibrary loan! Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery in the Larger Academic Library is primarily a practical handbook for library staff members who are new to interlibrary loan, the suggestions and resources it contains will also be valuable to experienced interlibrary loan staff. With the tremendous changes and innovative new technologies that have been introduced in the past few years, this essential book fills an urgent need in the library literature for an up-to-date interlibrary loan manual. Based upon the policies and procedures of the interlibrary loan department at Rice University in Houston, Texas, this handy desk reference provides a case study of an actual ILL department as well as general suggestions for organizing and operating a modern ILL department. Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery in the Larger Academic Library: A Guide for University, Research, and Larger Public Libraries provides you with: the latest, most up-to-date treatment of interlibrary loan available a patron's perspective on ILL--what users want and expect from ILL services an extensive list of resources for copyright information and updated information on copyright law as it applies to ILL an extensive list of interlibrary loan resources practical examples based on the real operation of an ILL department helpful appendices and flow charts of the ILL process an annotated bibliography and list of resources for further exploration Designed primarily for librarians with little to no real practical experience in interlibrary loan, this book will educate readers about ILL and to provide a basic framework for evaluating an existing ILL operation or establishing a new one. It will also be a valuable reference for supervisors with responsibility for the ILL department, reference librarians, and experienced interlibrary loan librarians looking for expert, up-to-date information.
Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan on a Shoestring by
This invaluable guide is written specifically for libraries facing budgetary constraints. It provides a jargon-free breakdown of the laws, codes, and regulations that govern ILL and document delivery policy decisions.There is a guidance to help you develop compliant and cost-effective policies, streamline borrowing and lending procedures, and optimize workflow. While there is a thorough overview of the field's newest tiemsaving technologies, Knox also explains the many ways in which smaller institutions can go paperless for less, with practical tips for using widely available office technology and free open source products to receive and tract ILL and document delivery transactions. The book also includes helpful illustrations and appendices with templates for easily reproducible forms as well as examples of best practices and real-life policies used in both public and academic libraries.
Resource Sharing in Libraries by
Marshall Breeding's new Library Technology Report explores technologies and strategies for sharing resources, helping you streamline workflows and improve resource-sharing services by covering key strategies like interlibrary loan, consortial borrowing, document delivery, and shared collections.
Resource Sharing Today by
Budget constraints challenge collection development in unprecedented ways. Collection development has increasingly become a cooperative effort among libraries in geographic proximity. When their own library doesn't have certain books or journals, users turn to interlibrary loan to obtain the resources they need. However, many library science degree programs don't cover interlibrary loan. Resource Sharing Today is a practical guide to resource sharing starting with the library across town and ending with libraries on the other side of the globe. Chapters cover everything from the ALA's interlibrary loan form to successful innovations such as Virginia Tech's ILLiad to New York's IDS (Information Delivery Service). Appendices include regional, state, national, and international ILL codes, ALA and IFLA forms, open access agreements, and purchase on demand plans.
