LibGuides: INFO 657 Student Project: VR in Libraries-Emily Parker

Virtual Reality in Libraries

As virtual reality (VR) technologies become more commonplace in society, it is important for libraries to include these technologies as part of their services, not just because demand for them increases, but because their use can expand what a library offers its users. From in-depth gaming to being able to explore potential career paths, VR technologies have opened a new world of exploration and information.

As Ellern and Cruz (2021) investigated with their study, "the myriad of challenges that arise not just from rethinking how an academic library engages with technology, but from pushing the boundaries of what library work is (or could be).” Technology not only changes what a library offers, but even more generally how a library operates as a hub of information in the community. Playing this role, it is important for libraries to constantly be adapting to the needs of users or create a service that users will want.

This LibGuide will offer resources and information on what VR technology can offer libraries and their users and also how libraries can begin to integrate virtual reality technologies into their services.

“The increasing popularity of digital technologies, especially virtual reality (VR) technologies, creates unique opportunities for rethinking and improving library services.” -Kunanets, Lypak, and Zholna (2024)

Books about VR in Library and Information Organizations

Information for a Better World: Normality, Virtuality, Physicality, Inclusivity by Isaac Sserwanga (Editor); Anne Goulding (Editor); Heather Moulaison-Sandy (Editor); António Lucas Soares (Editor); Viviane Hessami (Editor); Rebecca D. Frank (Editor); Jia Tina Du (Editor)
ISBN: 3031280318
Publication Date: 2023-03-10
This edition cover topics such as: Archives and Records, Behavioral Research, Information Governance and Ethics, AI and Machine Learning, Data Science, Information and Digital literacy, Cultural Perspectives, Knowledge Management and Intellectual Capital, Social Media and Digital Networks, Libraries, Human-Computer Interaction and Technology, Information Retrieval, Community Informatics, and Digital Information Infrastructure.
Beyond Reality by Kenneth J. Varnum (Editor)
ISBN: 9780838918098
Publication Date: 2019-03-04
The current price of virtual reality headsets may seem out of economic reach for most libraries, but the potential of "assisted reality" tools goes well beyond merely inviting patrons to strap on a pair of goggles. Ranging from enhanced training to using third-party apps to enrich digital collections, there is a kaleidoscope of library uses for augmented, virtual, or mixed reality. In this collection, Varnum and his hand-picked team of contributors share exciting, surprising, and inspiring case studies from a mix of institution types, spotlighting such topics as collaborative virtual reality for improved library instruction, education, and learning and teaching; 3D modeling using virtual reality; virtual reality as collaboration space, from gaming to teleconferencing; balancing access with security, and other privacy issues; future possibilities for augmented reality in public libraries; and augmented reality for museums and special collection libraries.
Creating Immersive Learning Experiences Through Virtual Reality (VR) by Shaik Mazhar Hussain (Editor); Ahmed Nawaz Hakro (Editor)
ISBN: 9798369364109
Publication Date: 2024-09-16
In the evolving educational environment, the search for engaging and effective learning experiences has led to the research and implementation of the latest technologies. Among them, virtual reality (VR) stands out as a transformative tool that promises to redefine the transmission and absorption of information. Bringing VR to education is not just a technical innovation, but a pedagogical revolution. It represents a shift from passive learning to active learning, where students are not only observers but participants in their educational journey. Creating Immersive Learning Experiences Through Virtual Reality (VR) provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the application of VR technologies in education, highlighting the gaps in current literature, future research goals, and facilitating interdisciplinary collaboration among technologists, educators, and policymakers to better address the complex challenges of the effective adoption of these technologies. This book provides case studies, evidence-based knowledge and practical guidance regarding ethical concerns, theoretical foundations, practical applications, and pedagogical strategies.
Teaching and Learning in Virtual Environments: Archives, Museums, and Libraries by Patricia C. Frank (Author); Lori A. Bell (Author); Rhonda B. Trueman (Author)
ISBN: 9798216022831
Publication Date: 2016
This book explains the range of possibilities for creating immersive learning experiences through the use of virtual worlds, virtual simulations, virtual collections, exhibits by libraries and museums, and archives. Explains how using virtual worlds in teaching and outreach can better motivate, engage, and reach more students with diverse learning styles than traditional text-based methods. Updated with information on the latest technology and newest library applications.

Articles about VR in Libraries and Information Organizations

Perceptions and experiences of virtual reality in public libraries
Virtual reality (VR) is becoming a more available technology including in public spaces like libraries. The value and role of VR as a tool for learning and social engagement are unclear. The purpose of this paper is to explore the ways in which library patrons and librarians perceive VR and experience VR through library drop-in programs.
Virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR) in libraries and museums
This edition of this study aims to focus on augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) in libraries and museums, as seen from the internet cyber sphere including blogs. It takes a look at the first quarter of 2018 and analyzes the trending issues within the period, highlighting examples of some institutions that make use of VR and AR. The advantages of the use of VR, AR and sometimes mixed reality are also pointed out.
Black, White, and Grey The Wicked Problem of Virtual Reality in Libraries
This study seeks to extend wicked problems analysis within the context of a library's support for virtual reality (VR) and the related extended reality (XR) emerging technologies. This research also hints at a larger role for librarians in the research of technology diffusion and what that might mean to their role in higher education in the future.
Virtual Reality in Libraries: Analysis of Opportunities and Challenges
The research aims to take a systematic approach to analyzing the possibilities of using virtual reality in the library environment to enhance library efficiency, provide new opportunities for users, and improve educational processes in the field of library science.

References

Ellern, G. D., & Cruz, L. (2021). Black, White, and Grey The Wicked Problem of Virtual Reality in Libraries. Information Technology and Libraries, 40(4). https://doi.org/10.6017/ital.v40i4.12915

Kunanets, N., Lypak, H., & Zholna, D. (2024). Virtual Reality in Libraries: Analysis of Opportunities and Challenges. Visnyk Kharkivsʹkoï Derz͡h︡avnoï Akademiï Kulʹtury, 65, 83–95. https://doi.org/10.31516/2410-5333.065.06