Skip to main content
Drexel Library

Bioinformatics

This course guide includes useful resources to assist students to find relevant information needed for their projects and assignments.

Bioinformatics Resources

Bioinformatics is an emerging field of science that is concerned with the management, analysis and visualization of the flood of data being generated in molecular and cellular biology, genomics and other areas of biology and biomedicine. See: What is a GenomeA Brief Guide to GenomicsWhat is a gene?, What is DNA?, Genetic Code and Gene Symbol.
.
Gene Names and Symbols: Genetics Home Reference uses standardized gene terminology from the National Center for Biotechnology Information’s NCBI Gene database. This terminology typically includes the official gene name and gene symbol as designated by the HUGO Gene Nomenclature Committee (HGNC). Genetics Home Reference italicizes symbols for human genes in accordance with the HGNC Guidelines for Gene Nomenclature.

Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly gene summaries:
You can explore the normal functions of human genes and the health implications of genetic changes. It uses standardized gene terminology from the National Center for Biotechnology Information’s NCBI Gene database. Explore the normal functions of human genes and the health implications of genetic changes at Genes.  See also DNA Sequencing.

Use AccessScience to find  information on various subject areas related to Bioinformatics.

  • AccessScience Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. AccessScience is the electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

Books Click on the links below to see what books are available in the library in some key areas related to Bioinformatics:

Try Summon to find  peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals. 

  • Use relevant research keywords related to your topic. 
  • For example, type Stem Cells and click on Search.
  • Refine your search results by selecting options such as 'scholarly and peer review', 'peer review'. If you are looking for only journal articles, click on 'Journal article' under 'Content Type'. 
  • Explore your results, find and access papers you need. 

Electronic Books

 

Electronic Databases

See also: Science's STKE: Signal Transduction Knowledge Environment Web of Knowledge

Web based sources

  • Nucleic Acids Research Collaboration For more than 30 years, the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration (INSDC; http://www.insdc.org/) has been committed to capturing, preserving and providing access to comprehensive public domain nucleotide sequence and associated metadata which enables discovery in biomedicine, biodiversity and biological sciences.
  • DNA sequencing Technologies Key to the Human Genome Project
  • Human Genome Collection Complete and comprehensive DNA sequence of the human genome as a freely available resource from Nature
  • The Human Genome Project Completion: Frequently Asked Questions
    On April 14, 2003 the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI), the Department of Energy (DOE) and their partners in the International Human Genome Sequencing Consortium announced the successful completion of the Human Genome Project.
  • BioGRID: The Biological General Repository for Interaction Datasets (BioGRID) is a public database that archives and disseminates genetic and protein interaction data from model organisms and humans (thebiogrid.org). BioGRID currently holds over 1,400,000 interactions curated from both high-throughput datasets and individual focused studies, as derived from over 57,000 publications in the primary literature.  
  • NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology Information Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease. The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
  • See: NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology Information
  • Coffee Break: Tutorials for NCBI tools
  • NCBI Handbook 

    The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is one of the world's premier Web sites for biomedical and bioinformatics research. Based within the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, USA, the NCBI hosts many databases used by biomedical and research professionals. The services include PubMed, the bibliographic database; GenBank, the nucleotide sequence database; and the BLAST algorithm for sequence comparison, among many others.

    Although each NCBI resource has online help documentation associated with it, there is no cohesive approach to describing the databases and search engines, nor any significant information on how the databases work or how they can be leveraged, for bioinformatics research on a larger scale. The NCBI Handbook is designed to address this information gap.

  • Human Genome Resources from NCBI
  • NCBI - Genes and Disease Entrez Gene (NOTE: Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.)
  • OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (NOTE: This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information. OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh.)
  • Ensembl (NOTE: Ensembl is a genome browser for vertebrate genomes that supports research in comparative genomics, evolution, sequence variation and transcriptional regulation. Ensembl annotate genes, computes multiple alignments, predicts regulatory function and collects disease data. Ensembl tools include BLAST, BLAT, BioMart and the Variant Effect Predictor (VEP) for all supported species.
  • NCBI databases: Search

Subject Guide

Jay Bhatt's picture
Jay Bhatt
Contact:
Drexel University Libraries
Drexel University
3300 Market Street
W. W. Hagerty Library
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Tel: 215.895.1873
drexel.edu/library
Website