LibGuides: Assessment and Testing: Home

Research Methods Background

SAGE Research Methods Online with Videos This link opens in a new window
The dictionaries and "Little Green Books" are great for building your background understanding of concepts such as the reliability of measurement methods.
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
Keywords: research, methodology, quantitative, qualitative, social science

Associations

Associations in general are a good source of survey data, training opportunities and certification requirements of professionals in their field. If you don't find an assessment that meets your need in the directories listed to the right, you may wish to explore the following "Encyclopedia of Associations" database to find a relevant organization that can lead you to further resources.

Gale Directory Library (formerly Associations Unlimited) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate more than 456,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, and access IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. Also useful for monitoring association trends, identifying related associations, networking and making professional contacts, identifying award and funding opportunities, and marketing to associations, their members and markets. Includes these directories: Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations; and National Directory of Nonprofit Associations.

The following are examples of associations that specialize in professional development of higher education faculty. Both offer training and certifications.

Online Learning Consortium (formerly Sloan C)
Starting out as Sloan Consortium (Sloan-C) in 1992, the leading professional online learning society devoted to advancing quality e-Education into the mainstream of education through its community. Re-branded in 2014 to the Online Learning Consortium (OLC) to better align with our mission, a dedication to providing access to high quality e-Education to individuals, institutions, professional societies and the corporate community.
more...less...
Drexel is an institutional member - see this specific link to find additional resources: http://onlinelearningconsortium.org/olc-member-resources/

Assessments - Full Text

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), a repository for a growing collection of psychological tests and measures, including full-text of thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
INDISPENSABLE!!!
INCLUDES FULL TEXT OF MANY INSTRUMENTS!
Keywords: testing, tests, psychological, educational, assessments, instruments

Reviews and Sources of Assessments

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Keywords: testing, tests, psychological, educational, assessments, instruments

The Test Collection at ETS (TestLink)
A database with descriptive and order information for more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices spanning from the early 1900's to the present . The information in this collection was acquired from U.S. publishers and individual test authors as well as some from Canada, Great Britain, and Australia.
more...less...
Note: does not provide a copy of the test itself but includes the contact information for the publisher and last known pricing.

Data Sources

International Data Explorer from NCES
The International Data Explorer (IDE) from the National Center for Education Statistics is an interactive online tool with data from international assessments and surveys, such as PISA and TIMSS. Use the IDE to explore student and adult performance on assessments and survey results for thousands of variables for the U.S. and other countries.