Skip to main content
Drexel Library

Library and Information Science : Home

Libraries and librarianship for information professionals

Finding definitions

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science -- Both online and in print, Ref Z1006 .E57

Annual Review of Information Science & Technology -- (2002-2010) Provides a "state of the art" annual look at the hot topics in the field by leading authors from American Society for Information Science & Techology "ASIST" regularly featuring Drexel CCI contributors.  For older works, use this separate online index of entry titles back to the 1966. Both online as linked above and in print, Z699.A1 A65 (1966 - 2009)

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences --  This deep resource includes articles on libraries, archives, and more under the main entry "Information Science and Technology." Updated annually. Both online and in print, Ref H41 .I58 2001

Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science -- A comprehensive resource for terminology used in all types of libraries, with more than 4,000 terms and cross-references . Its content includes terms from publishing, printing, literature, and computer science.

Finding articles

Several databases overlap to cover this space. All are searched by the Summon (Articles & More) discovery layer tool if you prefer that interface.

Information Science

Information science deals with all the processes and techniques pertaining to the information life cycle, including capture, generation, packaging, dissemination, transformation, refining, repackaging, usage, storage, communication, protection, presentation etc. in any possible manner. Information science as an academic discipline is often taught in combination with Library science as Library and Information Science. Library science as such is a field related to the dissemination of information through libraries making use of the principles of information science. (Source: Wikipedia)

See journal titles with "information science" in the title. Clicking through you may notice how the article titles range from highly technical compute science to more anthropological.

The following databases are good examples of information science applied to a particular challenge in the information lifecycle - tracking citations and scholarly productivity. For more on this topic see the libguide for Scholarly Impact.

Subject Guide

Tim Siftar's picture
Tim Siftar
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Liaison Librarian
Drexel Libraries
Hagerty Library #126
3300 Market Street
www.drexel.edu/library
Online meeting room: https://DrexelIRT.zoom.us/my/libraries
215-895-2762
Skype Contact: tsiftar