LibGuides: Geology: Home

Finding Books

Try a keyword search in DragonSearch. Filter search results by 'Material Type-Book Chapters.
Explore 'Advanced Keyword searching'. See also DragonSearch Tutorials to learn more about advanced search techniques.

Electronic Books

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering prepares students to solve real-world problems, provides access to upper-level textbooks at no additional cost, enables faculty to integrate practical resources into their courses, and helps professionals find relevant information faster, driving increased ROI.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
**Browser Compatibility note: AccessScience is best viewed using Firefox, IE, or Safari. Google Chrome may yield an error**

Online science platform, featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, biographies of scientific figures, images, and videos.
Ebrary [ProQuest Ebook Central] This link opens in a new window
Ebrary is now part of ProQuest Ebook Central. Ebook Central offers over 100,000 ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
EBSCO Ebooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost ebooks provide over 300,000 titles across multiple subject areas.
Knovel Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Engineering decision-support solution enabling students to solve problems faster. Its powerful search and interactive analytical tools help students find answers to technical questions through best practice insights, validated equations, and materials and property data from various providers.

LibreTexts - GeoSciences (Open Access books)

Geology is an Earth science concerned with the solid Earth, the rocks of which it is composed, and the processes by which they change over time. Geology can also include the study of the solid features of any terrestrial planet or natural satellite such as Mars or the Moon.

Finding articles

Try DragonSearch to find peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals.

Use relevant research keywords related to your topic.
For example, type ‘Geology' and 'Earth and Soil' click on Search.
Refine your search results by selecting options such as 'peer review' and 'Articles and more'.
Explore your results, find and access papers you need.

Electronic Databases

Use databases below to find scholarly journal articles about the topic of your research project.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text scholarly journals and periodicals covering a wide-range of topics and disciplines. Allows filtering by peer-review and browsing by subject.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every subject area. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publications This link opens in a new window
Full-text online versions of AIP journals published by the American Institute of Physics
Scitation
Keywords: Acoustics, Optics, Physical Chemistry, Plasma Physics, Rheology, Fluid Dynamics
EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new window
Link to collection of full text databases on EBSCOHost licensed for Drexel; including Art & Architecture Complete; Business Source Complete; Communication & Mass Media Complete; Education Research Complete; Nursing Reference Center Plus; and many others.
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures.
IOPscience extra This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to the Institute of Physics Journals.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
A directory of all ProQuest databases to which Drexel University Libraries subscribe.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is Elsevier's abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers more than 36,000 titles from over 11,000 publishers, nearly all of which are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. It covers three types of sources: book series, journals, and trade journals. All journals covered in the Scopus database, regardless of who they are published under, are reviewed each year to ensure high quality standards are maintained. Searches in Scopus also incorporate searches of patent databases. Scopus gives four types of quality measure for each title; those are h-Index, CiteScore, SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Web of Science is a terrific place to begin for research in the sciences. Also includes citation analysis tools.
https://www-webofscience-com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/wos/woscc/basic-search

Reference Resources

Geology
Online Resource - Encyclopedia
Glossary of Geology
Print Resource
Roadside Geology - series
Print Resource

Web Resources

All About Glaciers
Marine Geology and Geophysics
Metamorphic Petrology Directory
This is the personal webpage of a University of Oxford lecturer in Metamorphic Petrology and contains research summaries, information and links relating to petrology, mineralogy, and the use of computers in teaching.
Mineralogy Database