Researching a Company

Data and information about active and inactive public and private U.S. and international companies, company and industry news, and more. In addition to profiles containing descriptive and financial details about active and inactive companies, Mergent Intellect features consumer data, Nielsen demographic and U.S. Census data, industry reports (U.S., Canada, global), and key business ratios. Includes D&B Million Dollar Database, Hoover's Online, and Mergent Key Business Ratios on the Web
Keywords: company, demographic, finance, industry, job

Data and information about U.S. and international public and private companies (including thousands of inactive U.S. and international public companies), economic research, country profiles, and international industry analysis. Content includes: basic company, customer, competitor, and product information, executive profiles, financial statements (up to 35 years), financial ratios, stock prices, SEC filings, Investext current and historical broker research reports, supply chain information, Mergent Industry Reports for key industries covering North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region (2003 to present), and the ability to perform a mock merger and acquisition analysis. Mergent Bond Viewer is also accessible from the Bond Search tab.Keywords: financial analysis, financial analyst, broker, company, country, finance, industry, supply chain

Collections of historical corporate and industry-related documents. Drexel subscribes to: Moody's/Mergent Corporate Manuals (1909-present), Corporate Annual Reports (USA, Canada, and International; 1844-present), Global Industry Profiles (from First Research, covering more than 1,000 top industry segments; 2003-present), Equity Reports (from Ford Equity Research, 2011-present), Dun & Bradstreet Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Print Archive (covering more than 800 lines of business; 1979-present), Hoover's Handbooks (American Business, Emerging Companies, MasterList of U.S. Companies, Private Companies, World Business; early 1990s-present), and the SEC Historical Collection (1970-1994).

Largest available data aggregator for statistics, offering more than one million statistics and facts from more than 18,000 sources within the United States and internationally. Statistics, statistical dossiers, reports, surveys, and market studies are categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and consumer, digital, and mobility markets. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 international brands, and additional topics from a global perspective. Business Plan Export aids in market modeling, business case development, and profit and loss statement creation.

Click "Companies" in the top menu bar, then search by company name to access data, profiles, analysis, and dashboards for the company. Or, use the "Search" tool to refine your search parameters prior to executing a search.

Search by company name, then refine results by: Reports--> Focus on Companies & Brands

If you are researching a company in the information technology sector, Gartner Core Research Library is an excellent resource. Includes competitive landscapes, hype cycles, magic quadrants, and more.

Hoover’s Handbook of Private Companies (editions: 1994-1995 to present) features profiles on hundreds of the largest and most influential privately held enterprises in the United States. Entries feature overviews of company operations, up to five years of financial information, product information, and lists of company executives as found in Hoover’s huge database of company information. Some larger and more visable companies feature an additional History section.

To access Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies:
-From the Mergent Archives landing page, click the "Search Mergent Archives" link
-select the Hoover's tab
-select Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
-select year

Data and information about active and inactive public and private U.S. and international companies, company and industry news, and more. In addition to profiles containing descriptive and financial details about active and inactive companies, Mergent Intellect features consumer data, Nielsen demographic and U.S. Census data, industry reports (U.S., Canada, global), and key business ratios. Includes D&B Million Dollar Database, Hoover's Online, and Mergent Key Business Ratios on the Web
Keywords: company, demographic, finance, industry, job

Data and information about U.S. and international public and private companies (including thousands of inactive U.S. and international public companies), economic research, country profiles, and international industry analysis. Content includes: basic company, customer, competitor, and product information, executive profiles, financial statements (up to 35 years), financial ratios, stock prices, SEC filings, Investext current and historical broker research reports, supply chain information, Mergent Industry Reports for key industries covering North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region (2003 to present), and the ability to perform a mock merger and acquisition analysis. Mergent Bond Viewer is also accessible from the Bond Search tab.Keywords: financial analysis, financial analyst, broker, company, country, finance, industry, supply chain

To use this database, you must create a PrivCo account using your Drexel email address. Each user may download 150 records per month. Data and information about U.S. private companies and private investors plus larger funding deals and archived profiles for select private international companies. In addition to financials, funding rounds, valuations, and competitors for private companies, contains private investor profiles, and private equity, merger and acquisition, and venture capital funding deals.
Keywords: acquisition, company, equity, funding, investor, merger, private, venture capital

To find company information within ABI/INFORM Collection:
-click Advanced Search in top menu
-in the "Companies/Organizations" field, enter/search for a company by name.
-in the "Source type" menu, select "Other Sources" and "Reports," then click the Search button.
-results include company profiles and analyses, Boardroom Insiders Profiles of executives, Experian Commercial Risk details, GlobalData Company Deals and Alliances Profiles, and more.
-alternatively, if you know what type of document you need (such as an annual report), skip the "Source Type" selections and instead select the type of document from the "Document Type" menu when performing your search

To find company information within Business Source Complete:
-navigate to the top menu bar and click "Company Information"
-enter the company's name in the Company Name search field then click the Search button
-select the desired company from the search results list to view recent financial statistics, lists of associated NAICS and SIC codes, and lists of subsidiaries, products/services, and executives

To access MarketLine/Medtrack Company Profile Reports within Business Source Complete:
-navigate to the top menu bar, hover over "More" and click "Company Profiles"
-use the search box or alphabetical index to navigate to the company of interest and open a PDF version of the available report

To find company information within ProQuest Central:
-click Advanced Search in top menu
-in the "Companies/Organizations" field, enter/search for a company by name.
-in the "Source type" menu, select "Other Sources" and "Reports," then click the Search button.
-if you know what type of document you need (such as an annual report), skip the "Source Type" selections and instead select the type of document from the "Document Type" menu when performing your search

To access Hoover's Company Profiles within ProQuest Central:
-Click this link: Hoover's Company Profiles
-Browse by company or Search within available Hoover's profiles

Use the "Companies/Markets" tab on the top of the screen to search for your company. Use the interactive graph on the right side of the screen to look at articles about the company that were published on any given day on the chart. Very useful and interesting

Mergent Intellect includes active and inactive public and private U.S. and international companies. Provides the most recent five years of balance sheet, income statement, cash flow statement, financial ratio, and stock price data, when this information is available. All information can be downloaded into Excel.

Mergent Online offers up to 35 years of public companies' historical balance sheet, income statement, retained earnings, and cash flow statements and financial ratios, including standardized format revealing the components and formulas behind each item. All information can be downloaded into Excel. Annual reports and SEC filings are also available.

Mergent Online also includes available financial information for thousands of active U.S. and international private companies.

When you need financials for private companies, PrivCo is your primary resource. When available, income statement and balance sheet data is presented and can be downloaded into Excel.

Note: To use this database, you must create a PrivCo login using your Drexel email address. Each user may download 250 records per month.

Use the "Companies/Markets" tab to search for a desired company. Includes balance sheet, income statement, and cash flow statement data, financial breakdowns by geographic/business segments, and key financial ratios