Home - Alumni Guide - Health Sciences Resources - LibGuides at Drexel university libraries

Research Databases and Websites

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE resources. PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from life science journals, and online books.

ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. Individual registration is required to access guidelines.

Trip (Turning Research Into Practice)
This website presents the TRIP Database, a directory of medical links to high-quality sources of medical information on the web. It provides links to hundreds of other medical databases on the web through a search engine, including sites listed above. Search tips are listed on the search page. *Free registration is required.*
Agency for Healthcare Rearch and Quaility (AHRQ)
AHRQ's mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
National Academies Press
Reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Please click on linked book titles to view a free PDF. Prices listed refer print versions of these items.
theNNT
The NNT is a searchable resource that provides evidence-based medicine summaries with a focus on patient oriented evidence.

Drug Resources

Free Journals

Links to free full text journal content providers and specific sources are listed below. Some of the available journals do require registration, not all years are freely accessable.

Books

Merck Manual -Professional Version
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
National Academies Press
A growing collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.

Global Health Statistics

World Health Organization Statistical Information System

National Health Statistics

State Health Statistics Resources

Patient Education

Choosing Wisely: Patient Friendly Resources
MEDLINEPlus
Merck Manual -Consumer Version
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.

Interlibrary Loan

Loansome Doc is a service offered via the National Library of Medicine, in which PubMed users can request full text articles from a partnering library. This service is suggested to health professionals and other individuals that are not affiliated with a health sciences library. This above link will provide specific information related to the Drexel University Libraries participation.

Alumni Guide - Health Sciences Resources: Home