Aircraft Engineering and Performance: Home

• Use AccessScience to find  information on various subject areas related to aerospace and aircraft engineering.
  AccessScience Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. AccessScience is the electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

   

• Books 

  Try a keyword search in DragonSearch. You can also filter search results by 'Material Type-Book Chapter to access electronic books and their particular chapters related to your query.

  • ​YC-14 STOL Prototype
  • Boeing 727
  • Aerodynamics 
  • Airfoil Theory and Dynamics
  • Aircraft Design 
  • Static Stability and Control 
  • Supersonic planes  
  • Theory of Wing Sections 
  • Aircraft Dynamics and Automatic Control 

Search in various electronic book collections about topic related to materials science and engineering

ASME Digital Library:

ASME Digital Collection

Explore your results, find and access papers you need. 

Using DragonSearch:

Try DragonSearch to find  peer reviewed research articles from scholarly journals. 

• Use relevant research keywords related to your topic. 
• For example, type ‘Airfoil and Pressure Calculation and Aerospace ' and click on Search.
• Refine your search results by selecting options such as  'peer review' and 'Articles and more'.
• Explore your results, find and access papers you need. 

Use databases below to find scholarly journal articles about the topic of your research project.

Web Resources

• UIUC Airfoil Data Site The UIUC Airfoil Data Site is a collection of airfoil coordinates and airfoil related links. The UIUC Airfoil Coordinates Database includes the airfoils, and they cover a wide range of applications from low Reynolds number airfoils for UAVs and model aircraft to jet transports and wind turbines.
• Summary of Airfoil data The historical development of NACA airfoils is briefly reviewed. New data are presented that permit the rapid calculation of the approximate pressure distributions for the older NACA four-digit and five-digit airfoils by the same methods used for the NACA 6-series airfoils.
• The Incomplete Guide to Airfoil Usage
• NACA Airfoil
• NACA Airfoil Series
• NACA Airfoil Series
• Summary of Airfoil Data
• References to NACA Airfoil Geometry and Aerodynamics
• NACA FOUR-DIGIT AIRFOIL SECTION GENERATION USING CUBIC PARAMETRIC CURVE SEGMENTS AND THE GOLDEN SECTION
• National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, Chartered in 1915, operational from 1917-1958. Full Text Reports from 1917-1958. See: E. R. Eckert, John N. B. Livingood; Method for calculation of laminar heat transfer in air flow around cylinders of arbitrary cross section (including large temperature differences and transpiration cooling); naca-report-1118; 1953
• AIRFOIL Tools:  NACA 0018:
• Development of Aviation Technology: Airfoils
• Historical Evolution of Airfoil Sections
• The Characteristics of 78 Related Airfoil Sections From Tests in the Variable-Density Wind Tunnel. National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics (NACA) Technical Report 460, 1933.
• Airfoil section data obtained in the NACA variable-density tunnel as affected by support interference and other corrections
• Aerospace Engineering and Design - Using NASA Open Data
• Simulation Packages Expand Aircraft Design Options
• Software for Aerodynamics and Aircraft Design
• Open Source Aircraft Design Software Helps Industry, Hobbyists

What is a technical report? A technical report is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research, or the state of a technical or scientific research problem.